Make us your home page

Business briefs: Reception to honor Women of Distinction nominees


reception to honor nominees for 2008 women of the year

The St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce tonight will hold a special reception honoring the 2008 Women of Distinction nominees from 5:30 to 7 p.m. at the new Hazel Hough Wing of the Museum of Fine Arts.

Nominees for Business Women of the Year are Grace-Ann Alfiero, Dorothy Bailey, Susan Marie Buchholtz, Lisbeth Cherry, Diane T. Emery, Kathy L. Furbush, Joy Gendusa, Jane L. Harper, Lynn Heckler, Michele Huguet, Karen Krymski, Christine Noordstar, Dr. Felita Gale McNeill, Noreen Parker, Katie Pemble, Marilyn M. Polson, Suzanne B. Pomerantzeff, Sarah K. Snyder, Dr. Carol S. Steele, Karen L. Surdyk and Paula Vieillet.

Nominees for Community Service Women of the Year are Paula Allen, Dr. Susan Betzer, Jacqueline Y. Brown, Corinne K. Bulla, Trenia Byrd Cox, Dolores Castaldo, Evelyn C. Gardner, Jackie Griffin-Doherty, Shireen N. Lackey, Barbara Royston, Tami Simms-Powel, June Wallace, Mary Wheeler and Bernadette Young


Sunscreen Film Fest

to attract celebrities

The third annual Sunscreen Film Festival is gearing up for March 19-22 at the Vinoy Resort and Muvico Theaters BayWalk. Presenting work from local, national and international filmmakers, the festival provides educational and informational programs for filmmakers and the public, as well as networking for filmmakers and their peers. The event is also becoming a magnet for celebrities from all aspects of the industry and for fans wishing to see them. The festival is presented by the St. Petersburg/Clearwater Film Society.

Business briefs: Reception to honor Women of Distinction nominees 03/04/08 [Last modified: Thursday, October 28, 2010 9:25am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. 'Road to Nowhere' is back: Next phase of Suncoast Parkway coming


    Despite intense public opposition and dubious traffic projections, the Florida Department of Transportation has announced that construction of the toll road known as "Suncoast 2" is expected to start in early 2018.

    The Suncoast Parkway ends at U.S. 98 just south of Citrus County. For years residents have opposed extending the toll road, a project dubbed the "Suncoast 2" into Citrus County. But state officials recently announced that the Suncoast 2 should start construction in early 2018. [Stephen J. Coddington  |  TIMES]
  2. A sports rout on Wall Street


    NEW YORK — Sporting goods retailers can't shake their losing streak.

  3. Grocery chain Aldi hosting hiring event in Brandon Aug. 24


    BRANDON — German grocery chain Aldi is holding a hiring event for its Brandon store Aug. 24. It is looking to fill store associate, shift manager and manager trainee positions.

  4. Lightning owner Jeff Vinik backs film company pursuing global blockbusters


    TAMPA — Jeff Vinik's latest investment might be coming to a theater near you.

    Jeff Vinik, Tampa Bay Lightning owner, invested in a new movie company looking to appeal to a global audience. | [Times file photo]
  5. Trigaux: Look to new Inc. 5000 rankings for Tampa Bay's future heavyweights


    There's a whole lotta fast-growing private companies here in Tampa Bay. Odds are good you have not heard of most of them.


    Kyle Taylor, CEO and founder of The Penny Hoarder, fills a glass for his employees this past Wednesday as the young St. Petersburg personal advice business celebrates its landing at No. 25 on the 2017 Inc. 5000 list of the fastest growing private companies in the country. Taylor, still in his 20s, wins kudos from executive editor Alexis Grant for keeping the firm's culture innovative. The business ranked No. 32 last year. [DIRK SHADD   |   Times]