Make us your home page

Three Tampa Bay CEOs honored as Florida entrepreneurs of the year

The heads of Tampa Bay area companies C1 Bank, DEX Imaging and Accuform Manufacturing are among nine Floridians being honored as an Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year.

The recipients, disclosed during a gala event at the Fontainebleau in Miami Beach on Thursday night, were selected based on demonstrating "excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance and personal commitment to their businesses and communities," Ernst & Young said.

Collectively, the nine executives grew employment for their companies by 64 percent and their revenues by 48 percent between 2010 and 2012.

The categories and respective winners are:

• Family Business — Wayne Johnson, chief executive officer, Accuform Manufacturing Inc., Brooksville.

• Financial Services — Trevor Burgess, chief executive officer, C1 Bank, St. Petersburg.

• Technology category — Dan Doyle Jr., president and chief executive officer, DEX Imaging, Tampa.

• Distribution and Manufacturing — R. Charles Murray, chief executive officer, PPi Technologies Group/Redi-2-DrinQ Group, Sarasota.

• Retail and Consumer Products category — Norbert P. Donelly, chairman, Tervis, North Venice.

• Health Care — Mark Montgomery, president and chief executive officer, Axium Healthcare Pharmacy Inc., Lake Mary.

• Emerging — Naomi Whittel, chief executive officer and founder, Reserveage Organics, Boca Raton.

• Hospitality — John Kunkel, chief executive officer and founder, 50 Eggs Inc., Miami.

• Services — Philip Anson Jr., chief executive officer, STS Holdings. Inc., Jensen Beach.

Three Tampa Bay CEOs honored as Florida entrepreneurs of the year 06/13/13 [Last modified: Monday, June 17, 2013 7:31am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Republicans to unveil broad tax cuts Wednesday, put off tough decisions


    President Donald Trump and top Republicans will promise a package of sweeping tax cuts for companies and individuals, the Washington Post reports, but the GOP leaders will stop short of labeling many of the tax breaks they hope to strip away, putting off controversial decisions that threaten to sink the party's tax …

    President Donald Trump speaks during a news conference with Spanish Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy in the Rose Garden of the White House, Tuesday, Sept. 26, 2017, in Washington. [Alex Brandon | Associated Press]
  2. Double your fun: Twitter's testing a 280-character limit for tweets


    Twitter chief executive Jack Dorsey last year made a definitive announcement about the company's famous 140-character count amid rumors that the firm would substantially relax the limit. "It's staying," Dorsey told the "Today" show's Matt Lauer. "It's a good constraint for us."

    In this 2013, file photo, the Twitter logo appears on an updated phone post on the floor of the New York Stock Exchange. [AP photo]
  3. Datz to open in St. Petersburg, join the James Museum of Western and Wildlife Art

    Food & Dining

    Now Datz news.

    Get it? Tuesday, Datz, the longtime line-out-the-door, oft-Instagrammed and -Yelped Tampa stalwart known for shock-and-awe sandwiches and oh-so-much bacon, announced it is coming to St. Petersburg.

    Lunch guest eat at Datz Deli at 2616 South MacDill Ave. in Tampa. Times files.
  4. Equifax CEO Richard Smith steps down amid hacking scandal

    Personal Finance

    The chief executive of Equifax, the troubled credit reporting agency that suffered a massive data breach affecting as many as 143 million people, will retire, effective Tuesday, according to a statement by the company.

    Richard Smith, chief executive of Equifax, the troubled credit reporting agency that suffered a massive data breach that affected as many as 143 million people, will reportedly retire effective Tuesday.
[File photo: Joey Ivansco/Atlanta Journal-Constitution via AP]
  5. Bass Pro acquires Cabela's for $4 billion


    Bass Pro Shops has acquired competitor Cabela's for a reported $4 billion. Bass Pro indicated it is seeking to appeal to all "outdoor enthusiasts" with the move, roping in hunting customers from Cabela's.

    Bass Pro Shops acquired Cabela's for $4 billion, Bass Pro announced Tuesday. | [JAMES BORCHUCK | Times]