Make us your home page

Eight regional finalists named for Ernst & Young state entrepreneur award

Eight west-central Florida finalists were named in the statewide Ernst & Young "entrepreneur of the year 2012" award. Award recipients will be announced June 14 at the Orlando Hilton.

Finalists in eight categories are: distribution and manufacturing: R. Charles Murray, CEO, PPi Technologies Group, Sarasota; emerging: Bobby Harris, CEO, BlueGrace Logistics, Riverview; financial services: T. John Jerger, Jr., president, American Traditions Insurance Co. and Modern USA Insurance Co., Pinellas Park; health care: Richard L. Sanchez, CEO, Advantica, Clearwater; real estate and construction: Charles Puccini, CEO, Bauer Foundation Corp., Odessa; retail and consumer products, two finalists: Oscar Horton, CEO, Sun State International Trucks LLC, Tampa, and Rhonda Shear, president, Shear Enterprises LLC, St. Petersburg; and in service: Steven MacDonald, CEO, myMatrixx, Tampa.

In addition, the Florida lifetime achievement award recipients are William D. Morean, chairman, and Timothy L. Main, CEO, of Jabil Circuit in St. Petersburg.

Eight regional finalists named for Ernst & Young state entrepreneur award 05/17/12 [Last modified: Thursday, May 17, 2012 8:32pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Expanded Belle Parc RV Resort lures travelers with plenty of amenities


    BROOKSVILLE — Imagine mid-mansion, upscale-enclave living. On wheels. The outcome is Belle Parc, an upwardly mobile, even luxury, RV retreat just north of Brooksville that opened Jan. 1 after two years undergoing expansion, uplift and amenity enrichment.

    A new welcome center is under construction, rear, at Belle Parc RV Resort, where lake sites are being completed, bringing the resort's capacity to 275 spacious park-and-stay slots.
 [Photo by Beth N. Gray]
  2. Memorial Day sales not enough to draw shoppers to Tampa Bay malls


    TAMPA — Memorial Day sales at Tampa Bay area malls were not enough to compete with the beach and backyard barbecues this holiday weekend.

    Memorial Day sales weren't enough to draw shoppers to Tampa Bay area malls over the long weekend. 
  3. Austin software company acquires second Tampa business


    Austin, Tex.-based Asure Software acquired Tampa's Compass HRM Inc. late last week for $6 million. Compass focuses on HR and payroll.

    [Company photo]
  4. Hackers hide cyberattacks in social media posts


    SAN FRANCISCO — It took only one attempt for Russian hackers to make their way into the computer of a Pentagon official. But the attack didn't come through an email or a file buried within a seemingly innocuous document.

    Jay Kaplan and Mark Kuhr, former NSA employees and co-founders of Synack, a cybersecurity company, in their office in Palo Alto, Calif., in 2013. While last year's hacking of senior Democratic Party officials raised awareness of the damage caused if just a handful of employees click on the wrong emails, few people realize that a message on Twitter or Facebook could give an attacker similar access to their system. 
[New York Times file photo]
  5. Big rents and changing tastes drive dives off St. Pete's 600 block

    Music & Concerts

    ST. PETERSBURG — Kendra Marolf was behind the lobby bar of the State Theatre, pouring vodka sodas for a weeknight crowd packed tight for Bishop Briggs, the latest alternative artist to sell out her club.

    Sam Picciano, 25, left, of Tampa and Molly Cord 24, Palm Harbor shop for record albums for a friend at Daddy Kool Records located on the 600 block of Central Avenue in St. Petersburg, Florida on Saturday, May 20, 2017. OCTAVIO JONES   |   Times