Make us your home page

Times staff wins 11 Green Eyeshade journalism awards

The St. Petersburg Times and won four first-place awards and 11 prizes overall in the 2010 Green Eyeshade competition run by the Society of Professional Journalists. The awards recognize outstanding work in media organizations in 11 southeastern states.

The Times' first-place winners were:

• Lane DeGregory in feature writing for "The truth is flexible," about panhandlers.

• Ben Montgomery, Waveney Ann Moore and Edmund Fountain in nondeadline reporting for "For Their Own Good," about the Dozier School for Boys.

• Janet Keeler in travel writing for "Cape Cod shines for summer visits."

• James Borchuck in sports photography for a collection of his work.

Second-place winners were Howard Troxler for serious commentary, business writer Jeff Harrington for specialized reporting, and photographer John Pendygraft for online video­graphy.

Third-place awards went to Joe Childs and Thomas C. Tobin for investigative reporting, Gary Shelton for sports commentary, Ivan Penn for consumer reporting, and the Times staff for online reporting about the rescue of boater Nick Schuyler.

Times staff wins 11 Green Eyeshade journalism awards 09/15/10 [Last modified: Wednesday, September 15, 2010 9:52pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Former Sen. Greg Evers, advocate for law enforcement, dead at 62.

    State Roundup

    TALLAHASSEE — Former State Sen. Greg Evers, the Baker Florida strawberry farmer and veteran politician, was killed in a single car crash hear his home in Okaloosa County. The Florida Highway Patrol confirmed the death late Tuesday, but deferred any further information pending an investigation. He was 62.

    Former Florida Senator Greg Evers, R- Milton, was a passionate advocate for law enforcement and corrections officers. He was found dead Tuesday afternoon in a car crash. He was 62. [SCOTT KEELER | Tampa Bay Times]
  2. Foundation Partners buys Anderson-McQueen Funeral Home


    ST. PETERSBURG — Anderson-McQueen Funeral Home, the Tampa Bay area's largest family-owned funeral company, has been sold.

    Anderson-McQueen Funeral Home, the Tampa Bay area's largest family-owned funeral company, has been sold.
[CHRIS URSO   |   Times]
  3. Water Street Tampa unveils video showing downtown's transformation


    TAMPA — Water Street Tampa, the sweeping, 50-plus acre redevelopment project in Tampa's urban core, has unveiled new images and video of what the downtown district will look like upon completion.

    Strategic Property Partners released a conceptual image of what the Tampa skyline will look like once its redevelopment of 50-plus acres of downtown will look like. [Photo courtesy of  of SPP]
  4. Florida ranks high for workplace equality between men and women

    Working Life

    When it comes to the workplace, Florida ranks fifth in terms of gender equality, a WalletHub study released Tuesday found.

    Florida ranks high in terms of equality between men and women in the workplace. Pictured is Sandra Murman, county commissioner in 2015, talking about the differences in pay between men and women. | [Times file photo]
  5. Treasury secretary's wife boasts of travel on government plane, touts high fashion


    U.S. Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin's wife, Louise Linton, boasted of flying on a government plane with her husband to Kentucky on Monday and then named the numerous fashion brands she wore on the trip in an unusual social media post that only became more bizarre minutes later.

    Steven Mnuchin and his then- financee Louise Linton watch as President Donald Trump speaks during Mnuchin's swearing-in ceremony as  treasury secretary in the Oval Office of the White House on Feb. 13. [Mandel Ngan | AFP via Getty Images]