Make us your home page

Times wins 28 awards, 10 first places, from Florida Society of News Editors

The St. Petersburg Times on Friday won 10 first-place prizes and 28 overall in the 2011 competition of the Florida Society of News Editors, more than any other large-circulation news organization in the state.

The Times' first-place award winners were:

• Lucy Morgan and Richard Bockman in the investigative reporting category for "Florida's Taj Mahal."

• Lane DeGregory in features & arts writing for a selection of work.

• Sydney P. Freedberg in business for "Florida's Pension Fund."

• Howard Troxler in columns for a selection of work.

• Joni James in editorials for "Florida politics."

• Nikki Life in feature page design for "Botero."

• Andrew Braford, Josh Swearngin, Jim Tomlin and David Bruno in sports page design for "The World Cup."

• Don Morris in graphics/illustrations for "Ecological Disaster."

• James Borchuck in sports photography for "Tossed Away."

• Lara Cerri in enterprise online slide show for "Music Therapy."

The Times won 11 second-place awards, including to the Times staff in daily deadline reporting for "Bleak day in Tampa," coverage of the fatal shootings of two Tampa police officers; Adam C. Smith in beat reporting for "Florida Politics"; Kris Hundley in business for "Florida's Pension Fund"; Jody McMaster in headline writing for a selection of work; Kristin Wolfrum, Paul Alexander, Chris Kozlowski and Bruce Moyer in page one design; Jennifer DeCamp in feature page design for "Art Walks"; and Jen Hiatt, Mike Stephenson and Jim Tomlin in sports page design for "2010 Grand Prix."

Also winning second place were Brendan Fitterer in sports photography for "TD Dive", Edmund D. Fountain in photo story for "Party of One: Crist's Long Road"; Jack Rowland in blog/online commentary for "Gadget Guy"; and the Times staff and Haneke Design in innovation that drives digital audience for the "Things to Do iPhone App."

Third-place honors were awarded to Joe Childs, Thomas C. Tobin, Richard Bockman and Neil Brown in investigative reporting for "Inside Scientology"; Tim Nickens in editorials for "Florida Politics"; Kathleen Flynn in photo story and in enterprise online slide show for "The Swan Project"; Maurice Rivenbark in non-deadline video for "Whitey Markle Quiets the Airboats"; Lee Glynn in multimedia for "Dead Cat Walking"; and the Times staff in online niche site/channel for "Things to Do."

Several other awards were presented during the annual convention of the Florida Press Association and FSNE, held this week at the Renaissance Vinoy Resort in St. Petersburg.

The First Amendment Foundation announced its four 2011 Sunshine Award recipients, including Times staff writer Michael C. Bender for "Gov. Rick Scott Launches Public Records Website." Others were Jeff Parker, Florida Today; Randy Schultz, Palm Beach Post; and Patsy Palmer, D'Alemberte & Palmer.

The foundation awarded this year's Pete Weitzel/Friend of the First Amendment Award to the Lake Helen City Commission and the Sanford City Commission for "recognition of the importance of public participation in the workings of government."

Jacqueline Charles of the Miami Herald won the Paul Hansell Distinguished Journalism Award, which recognizes overall excellence in reporting and writing by a Florida journalist. And Kevin Spear of the Orlando Sentinel won the 2011 Waldo Proffitt Award for Excellence in Environmental Journalism in Florida, presented by the University of South Florida.

Patty Cox, managing editor/presentation for the Times and, was elected FSNE vice president on Friday.

Times wins 28 awards, 10 first places, from Florida Society of News Editors 07/01/11 [Last modified: Friday, July 1, 2011 3:31pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Expanded Belle Parc RV Resort lures travelers with plenty of amenities


    BROOKSVILLE — Imagine mid-mansion, upscale-enclave living. On wheels. The outcome is Belle Parc, an upwardly mobile, even luxury, RV retreat just north of Brooksville that opened Jan. 1 after two years undergoing expansion, uplift and amenity enrichment.

    A new welcome center is under construction, rear, at Belle Parc RV Resort, where lake sites are being completed, bringing the resort's capacity to 275 spacious park-and-stay slots.
 [Photo by Beth N. Gray]
  2. Memorial Day sales not enough to draw shoppers to Tampa Bay malls


    TAMPA — Memorial Day sales at Tampa Bay area malls were not enough to compete with the beach and backyard barbecues this holiday weekend.

    Memorial Day sales weren't enough to draw shoppers to Tampa Bay area malls over the long weekend. 
  3. Austin software company acquires second Tampa business


    Austin, Tex.-based Asure Software acquired Tampa's Compass HRM Inc. late last week for $6 million. Compass focuses on HR and payroll.

    [Company photo]
  4. Hackers hide cyberattacks in social media posts


    SAN FRANCISCO — It took only one attempt for Russian hackers to make their way into the computer of a Pentagon official. But the attack didn't come through an email or a file buried within a seemingly innocuous document.

    Jay Kaplan and Mark Kuhr, former NSA employees and co-founders of Synack, a cybersecurity company, in their office in Palo Alto, Calif., in 2013. While last year's hacking of senior Democratic Party officials raised awareness of the damage caused if just a handful of employees click on the wrong emails, few people realize that a message on Twitter or Facebook could give an attacker similar access to their system. 
[New York Times file photo]
  5. Big rents and changing tastes drive dives off St. Pete's 600 block

    Music & Concerts

    ST. PETERSBURG — Kendra Marolf was behind the lobby bar of the State Theatre, pouring vodka sodas for a weeknight crowd packed tight for Bishop Briggs, the latest alternative artist to sell out her club.

    Sam Picciano, 25, left, of Tampa and Molly Cord 24, Palm Harbor shop for record albums for a friend at Daddy Kool Records located on the 600 block of Central Avenue in St. Petersburg, Florida on Saturday, May 20, 2017. OCTAVIO JONES   |   Times