Make us your home page

Times wins 7 firsts, 18 awards overall in Green Eyeshade

Tampa Bay Times journalists won seven first-place honors and 18 overall in this year's Green Eyeshade Awards, a competition that for 64 years has recognized the best journalism in the Southeastern United States.

Winning first-place Green Eyeshade recognition for their work during 2013 were:

• Sean Daly in the category of criticism for a collection of work that included a feature on rappers and country stars mining similar themes.

• Lane DeGregory in feature writing for a collection including a story about Mr. Newton, who was still working at 99 with no thoughts about retirement.

• Janet K. Keeler in travel writing for a collection including a story about exploring Hemingway's Michigan.

• Michael Kruse, Don Morris, Lee Glynn, Alexis Sanchez and Maurice Rivenbark in online nondeadline reporting for a three-part series, "The Last Voyage of the Bounty."

• Ivan Penn in business reporting for stories on Duke Energy and nuclear power in Florida.

• Daniel Ruth in serious commentary for a collection including a column about his own experience being confronted by a man with a gun.

• Staff of the politics blog The Buzz in the best blog category.

Kris Hundley of the Times and Kendall Taggart of the Center for Investigative Reporting won second place in public service in daily journalism for stories on "America's Worst Charities."

Also winning second-place awards were John Romano in serious commentary; Adam C. Smith in politics reporting; the staff of PolitiFact Florida in online politics reporting; the Times staff in disaster coverage for stories on the Seffner sinkhole; and Chris Zuppa in videography.

Third-place winners were Leonora LaPeter Anton in feature writing; Hundley and Taggart in investigative reporting for "America's Worst Charities"; Joni James in editorial writing; John Pendygraft in feature photography; and Steve Persall in criticism.

Green Eyeshade is the nation's oldest regional journalism contest, and represents the best work by journalists in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and West Virginia. The annual awards are administered by regional directors for the Society of Professional Journalists, a national organization that works to protect First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.

Times wins 7 firsts, 18 awards overall in Green Eyeshade 05/06/14 [Last modified: Tuesday, May 6, 2014 8:17pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Pinellas construction licensing board needs to be fixed. But how?

    Local Government

    LARGO –– Everyone agrees that the Pinellas County Construction Licensing Board needs to be reformed. But no one agrees on how to do it.

    Rodney Fischer, former executive director of the Pinellas County Construction Licensing Board Rodney, at a February meeting. His management of the agency was criticized by an inspector general's report. [SCOTT KEELER   |   Times]

  2. New owners take over downtown St. Petersburg's Hofbräuhaus


    ST. PETERSBURG — The downtown German beer-hall Hofbräuhaus St. Petersburg has been bought by a partnership led by former Checkers Drive-In Restaurants president Keith Sirois.

    The Hofbrauhaus, St. Petersburg, located in the former historic Tramor Cafeteria, St. Petersburg, is under new ownership.

  3. Boho Hunter will target fashions in Hyde Park


    Boho Hunter, a boutique based in Miami's Wynwood District, will expand into Tampa with its very first franchise.

    Palma Canaria bags will be among the featured items at Boho Hunter when it opens in October. Photo courtesy of Boho Hunter.
  4. Gallery now bringing useful art to Hyde Park customers


    HYDE PARK — In 1998, Mike and Sue Shapiro opened a gallery in St. Petersburg along Central Ave., with a majority of the space dedicated to Sue's clay studio.

     As Sue Shapiro continued to work on her pottery in St. Petersburg, her retail space grew and her studio shrunk. Now Shapiro's is bringing wares like these to Hyde Park Village. Photo courtesy of Shapiro's.
  5. Appointments at Raymond James Bank and Saint Leo University highlight this week's Tampa Bay business Movers & Shakers



    Raymond James Bank has hired Grace Jackson to serve as executive vice president and chief operating officer. Jackson will oversee all of Raymond James Bank's operational business elements, risk management and strategic planning functions. Kackson joins Raymond James Bank after senior …

    Raymond James Bank has hired Grace Jackson to serve as executive vice president and chief operating officer. [Company handout]