Make us your home page

People notes


Quarles & Brady, Tampa, announces that the following attorneys have been included in the 2014 edition of the Best Lawyers in America®: David A. Beyer, franchise law; Christian C. Burden, franchise law; William F. Hamilton, commercial litigation, intellectual, property, patent, regulator enforcement SEC, telecom and energy law; Robert James Kline, trusts and estates, litigation and controversy/tax/tax Law/trusts and estates; Philip V. Martino, bankruptcy and creditor debtor rights, insolvency and reorganization law; Paul E. Parrish, commercial litigation/employee benefits ERISA law; and Samuel P. Queirolo, real estate law.

Trenam Kemker announces that the following attorneys have been included in the 2014 edition of Best Lawyers in America. St. Petersburg attorneys: Gerald D. Davis, commercial litigation; Robert C. Decker, real estate law; Charles M. Harris, commercial litigation, intellectual property; Michael P. Horan, bankruptcy/creditor-debtor rights law, bankruptcy; Richard O. Jacobs, health care law; Bruce Marger, trusts and estates, litigation; R. Donald Mastry, real estate law; and Marie Tomassi, appellate practice. Tampa attorneys: Thomas D. Aitken, trusts and estates; J. Alan Asendorf, real estate law; Paul D. Bain, eminent domain and condemnation law; Marvin E. Barkin, bet-the-company litigation, commercial litigation, banking and finance, real estate and securities; David R. Brittain, real estate law; Robert H. Buesing, commercial litigation, construction law, eminent domain and condemnation law; Nelson T. Castellano, corporate law, securities/capital markets law; Roberta A. Colton, bankruptcy/creditor-debtor rights law, bet-the-company litigation, bankruptcy; Stanley H. Eleff, commercial litigation, franchise law, construction, labor and employment; William C. Frye, bet-the-company litigation, commercial litigation, construction; Charles F. Ketchey Jr., commercial litigation, bankruptcy, intellectual property, securities trusts and estates; Mark D. Kiser, commercial litigation; Richard M. Leisner, corporate governance law, corporate law, securities/capital markets law, securities regulation; Harold W. Mullis Jr., corporate law, mergers and acquisitions law, tax law; Albert C. O'Neill Jr., tax law; Mary H. Quinlan, real estate law; William "Bill" G. Scott, real estate law; Richard H. Sollner, real estate law; Robert G. Stern, real estate law; J. Eric "Tate" Taylor, trusts and estates; Gary I. Teblum, corporate governance law, corporate law, leveraged buyouts/private equity law, securities/capital markets law; John S. Vento, litigation, construction; Don. B. Weinbren, health care law; and William K. Zewadski, bankruptcy/creditor-debtor rights law, bankruptcy.


The University of South Florida, St. Petersburg (USFSP) announces that Joseph Trubacz has been named regional vice chancellor for administrative and financial services; and Jennifer Gonzalez-Bohnert has been named director of development in university advancement. Trubacz brings over 23 years of financial and administrative experience to USFSP. For the past two years he has served as senior vice president of finance and administration at the Colorado School of Mines. Gonzalez-Bohnert was director of development for The Mahaffey Theater Foundation and the Bill Edwards Foundation for the Arts in St. Petersburg.

People notes 10/24/13 [Last modified: Friday, October 25, 2013 6:20pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Memorial Day sales not enough to draw shoppers to Tampa Bay malls


    TAMPA — Memorial Day sales at Tampa Bay area malls were not enough to compete with the beach and backyard barbecues this holiday weekend.

    Memorial Day sales weren't enough to draw shoppers to Tampa Bay area malls over the long weekend. 
  2. Austin software company acquires second Tampa business


    Austin, Tex.-based Asure Software acquired Tampa's Compass HRM Inc. late last week for $6 million. Compass focuses on HR and payroll.

    [Company photo]
  3. Hackers hide cyberattacks in social media posts


    SAN FRANCISCO — It took only one attempt for Russian hackers to make their way into the computer of a Pentagon official. But the attack didn't come through an email or a file buried within a seemingly innocuous document.

    Jay Kaplan and Mark Kuhr, former NSA employees and co-founders of Synack, a cybersecurity company, in their office in Palo Alto, Calif., in 2013. While last year's hacking of senior Democratic Party officials raised awareness of the damage caused if just a handful of employees click on the wrong emails, few people realize that a message on Twitter or Facebook could give an attacker similar access to their system. 
[New York Times file photo]
  4. Big rents and changing tastes drive dives off St. Pete's 600 block

    Music & Concerts

    ST. PETERSBURG — Kendra Marolf was behind the lobby bar of the State Theatre, pouring vodka sodas for a weeknight crowd packed tight for Bishop Briggs, the latest alternative artist to sell out her club.

    Sam Picciano, 25, left, of Tampa and Molly Cord 24, Palm Harbor shop for record albums for a friend at Daddy Kool Records located on the 600 block of Central Avenue in St. Petersburg, Florida on Saturday, May 20, 2017. OCTAVIO JONES   |   Times
  5. How Hollywood is giving its biggest stars digital facelifts


    LOS ANGELES — Johnny Depp is 53 years old but he doesn't look a day over 26 in the new "Pirates of the Caribbean" movie — at least for a few moments. There was no plastic surgeon involved, heavy makeup or archival footage used to take the actor back to his boyish "Cry Baby" face, however. It's all …

    This combination of photos released by Disney, shows the character Jack Sparrow at two stages of his life in "Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales."  Johnny Depp, who portrays the character, is the latest mega-star to get the drastic de-aging treatment on screen
[Disney via Associated Press]