Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

21 Hernando students inspire others to change

BROOKSVILLE — Twenty-one students from 19 schools have been honored for having made significant changes in their lives during the current school year. They all were honored at the 19th annual Hernando County Turnaround Achievement Awards dinner.

Related News/Archive

The Turnaround Achievement Awards program is sponsored by Elks Lodge No. 2582, the Hernando County Education Foundation, Spring Hill Lanes and the Hernando County Bowling Association.

The following students and their guests were honored April 29 at the Elks Lodge west of Brooksville:

Brooksville Elementary School: Brandon Taylor, for going from struggling in reading and having behavior issues to being the fastest reader in his class and having improved behavior.

Central High School: Marissa Abdullah, for hanging on to her goals and dreams during a tough time in her life.

Challenger K8 (elementary): Travis Ritter, for changing from being too social to being a good student with improved grades.

Challenger K8 (middle): Natasha Monfette, for building her self-confidence and becoming an "A" student.

Chocachatti Elementary School: Jeremy Montalvo, for turning around his attitude, learning to persevere and using his leadership abilities positively.

Deltona Elementary School: Olivia Eaton, for changing her behavior and attitude.

Eastside Elementary School: Jacob Sowers, for making a commitment to be positive and learning to go out of his way to be kind.

Fox Chapel Middle School: Bryan Keehner, for changing from being in constant trouble to gaining respect.

J.D. Floyd (elementary): De Andre Brinson, for excelling on his behavior plan and going from D's and F's to A's.

J.D. Floyd (middle): Josephine Giordano, for showing greater effort and a new attitude.

Hernando High School: David Walters, for changing from being irresponsible to being mature and a prized student.

Moton Elementary School: Ethan Hass, for going from a struggling student to a model student.

Nature Coast Technical School: Rachel Hatfield Rahn, for staying on track to graduate while pregnant, having the baby and getting married.

Parrott Middle School: Christina Vara, for dealing with difficulties, improving academically and becoming a positive role model.

Pine Grove Elementary School: Dylan Bacigalupo, for changing from being confrontational and untruthful to telling the truth, behaving and working hard.

Powell Middle School: Howard Shaeer, for moving off the path toward failure to being a prize student.

Spring Hill Elementary School: Cory Victory, from rushing through assignments and not turning in work to focusing on success.

Springstead High School: Amber Ulatowski, for changing from a poor student to one ready to graduate.

Suncoast Elementary School: Christopher Bistritz, for showing great improvement in behavior, attitude and grades.

West Hernando Middle School: Joshua Damroth, for changing from an angry person to one with self-control.

Westside Elementary School: Angeliz Alecia-Vasquez, for remarkable progress in learning English after coming to Westside from Puerto Rico.

21 Hernando students inspire others to change 05/05/08 [Last modified: Tuesday, May 6, 2008 9:34am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Tampa poll rates streets, flooding, police-community relations and transportation as top public priorities


    A city of Tampa online survey of the public's priorities for the next 18 months rated improving streets and easing flooding as the top priority of nearly 89 percent of respondents.

    Survey results
  2. Video shows women violently beating another in apparent Pasco road rage incident


    NEW PORT RICHEY — Two women are accused of dragging another woman out of her car window and beating her unconscious at a Pasco County intersection in an apparent road rage incident, according to the Sheriff's Office.

    Shelley Lyn Gemberling, 49, and Alicia Nikole Scarduzio, 20, are accused of pulling another driver out of her car and beating her in a Pasco County intersection. (Pasco Sheriff's Office)
  3. Top 5 at noon: Out of sight, out of mind: a Times investigation; PolitiFact: what's at stake in the tax debate? and more


    Here are the latest headlines and updates on

    Aaron Richardson Jr. talks to voices in his head at his father's bail bond business in St. Petersburg. Richardson has been diagnosed with schizophrenia. [JOHN PENDYGRAFT   |   TIMES]
  4. It's not a game, but the names are all the same in this football family


    TAMPA — A coach yells across the field into a scrum of blue-and-white clad football bodies at Jefferson High: "Kim Mitchell! Kim Mitchell, come here!"

    These twins are not only identical, but they have almost identical names. Kim Mitchell III, left, and Kim Mitchell IV are  talented football players at Jefferson High with Division I-A college offers. Kim  III wears No. 22 and plays cornerback while Kim IV wears No. 11 and plays safety. (Scott Purks, Special to the Times)
  5. Did Hurricane Irma speed the end of Florida orange juice?


    Hurricane Irma plundered Florida's orange belt, leaving a trail of uprooted trees, downed fruit and flooded groves worse than anything growers say they have seen in more than 20 years.

    A large number of oranges lie on the ground at the Story Grove orange grove in the wake of Hurricane Irma on Sept. 13, 2017, in Lake Wales. [Photo by Brian Blanco | Getty Images]