Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

34 from Pinellas named National Merit semifinalists

Thirty-four Pinellas County schools students have been named 2009 National Merit semifinalists. Semifinalists are eligible to compete for more than 8,000 National Merit scholarships worth $35-million that will be offered in the spring.

The 2009 National Merit semifinalists are: Mackenzie R. Deck, Victoria A. Joyal, Nicholas D. Phillips, Niraj Singh and Erica L. Von Stein of the Center for Advanced Technologies at Lakewood High; Jay C. Zuerndorfer of East Lake High; Gal Amar of Gibbs High; Kristen A. Eberts and Jennifer L. Shelby of Largo High; Anwesha Banerjee, Nicholas K. Caros, Qicong Chen, Noah D. Crisp, Robin J. Hamilton, Ryan C. Hoyt, Brian J. Kagay, Taylor A. Kizer, Ashley S. Kumar, Rachael E. Landis, Christopher R. Mertens and Keegan J. Musser of Palm Harbor University High; Carmen S. Dolling, Natalie J. Hebin and Jamie Sprecher of Seminole High; Dylan R. Sprague of St. Petersburg Collegiate High; Morgan A. Bauer-Emery, Kimberly E. Ferris, Jocelyn R. Howard, Jenna G. Lawhead, Brian McPhee, Kim T. Nguyen, Thomas L. Sutton and Alexander N. Weddle of St. Petersburg High; and Philippe G. Leguichard of Tarpon Springs High.

More than 1.5-million high school juniors in more than 21,000 schools took the 2007 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, an initial screen of program entrants.

Of those, about 16,000 were named semifinalists.

To become a finalist, semifinalists must submit a scholarship application, have an outstanding academic record, be endorsed and recommended by their principal, earn SAT scores that confirm the qualifying test performance, and write an essay describing activities, interests and goals.

34 from Pinellas named National Merit semifinalists 09/20/08 [Last modified: Saturday, September 20, 2008 4:32am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Kentucky recruit, former Tampa Catholic star Kevin Knox among top prospects for 2018 NBA Draft


    Less than 24 hours after the NBA Draft, analysts have already begun looking ahead to 2018.

    Tampa Catholic star Kevin Knox finishes a layup during the McDonald's All-American game in March at the United Center in Chicago. [LOREN ELLIOTT | Times]
  2. Editorial: Pinellas cannot ignore homeless families


    They are living on our streets and in our parking lots, in cheap motels and spare bedrooms if they're lucky and in old cars if they are not. Their kids attend our schools, and parents often are afraid to seek help. Pinellas County has made progress in recent years in providing temporary shelter for the homeless, but …

Ariana Turner, 22, and her daughter, Namine Cowell, 2, are living at St. Petersburg Free Clinic Family Residence after falling on hard times. Pinellas County has made progress in recent years in providing temporary shelter for the homeless, but homeless families with kids are virtually shut out. It's a crisis that requires public and private leadership to find an answer that is both compassionate and cost-effective.
  3. Report: USF faculty complained of a hostile, sexist, boorish boss


    TAMPA — A certain University of South Florida academic may be an unpopular and insensitive bully, but he did not break USF rules, a lengthy legal review has concluded.

    Herb Maschner was removed last fall as the head of a technology center at the University of South Florida after the school learned his previous employer found he engaged in inappropriate, on-campus sexual behavior. A new report looks at Maschner's tenure at USF. [Idaho State University]
  4. Oh, deer! Two bucks seen on video duking it out in Tennessee


    Deer generally are seen as calm and serene creatures, but that was not the case in this video posted Wednesday on the Tennessee Wildlife Resource Agency's Facebook page.

    A video, shot by Tennessee Wildlife Resource Agency wildlife officers Amy and Bubba Spencer on one of their trail cameras, shows two bucks on their hind legs and flailing in an open field. [Facebook]

  5. Pedestrian dies after being struck by vehicle near USF Tampa campus


    A pedestrian was killed near the University of South Florida Tampa campus on Friday after he was struck by a car on Fletcher Avenue, according to the Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office.