Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

District Science Fair winners, Gulf High's IB program and Thursday Musicale scholarships


• These Rushe Middle School students were named District Science Fair winners: First place: Zane Hogue. Second place: Samantha Montoya, Jamie O'Rourke and Derek Walters. Third place: Krystin Demsher, Sydney Reed, Madison Grybek, Bridget Monahan and Steven Naggy. Fourth place: Nicole Mooradinan. Steven Naggy also was named winner of the Environmental and Engineering awards.

• The following Gulf Middle students have qualified for the International Baccalaureate Program at Gulf High School for the school 2010-11 school year: Renee Patnode, Hannah Quade, Jackson Raymond, Nicole Sedivy, Maranda Smith, Renee VanDyke, Haley Wedge, Brooke Davis, Alexzandra Hare, Molly Smith, Cory Chin Loy, Bruce Dillard, Alex Giannakanis, Jamie Graves, Jalena Hawkins, Lissett Hernandez, Maria Hernandez, Asiya Khan, Tiffani Maybin, Hanna McAnn, Nicholas Osterer, Nikita Patel, Matthew Baker and Haley Kocurek.

Each year, the Thursday Musicale gives scholarships to local students who plan to pursue a career in music. The following students were named 2010 winners and were honored at the Thursday Musicale March Concert: Christopher Greco, Gulf High School, for Sonata for E flat Saxophone by Eccles. Aaron Cabrera, River Ridge High, for his performance of Concerto No. 3 by Stamitz. Victoria Hopkins, Mitchell High, for her flute performance of Cantabile et Presto by Enesco. Kristen Murrell, Mitchell High, played Jungle Walk on the marimba.

District Science Fair winners, Gulf High's IB program and Thursday Musicale scholarships 04/06/10 [Last modified: Tuesday, April 6, 2010 4:36pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. 13-year-old Janessa's father holds memorial service at Rogers Middle School


    RIVERVIEW — About 100 people sat in the tile-floored multipurpose room Saturday at Rodgers Middle School where Janessa Shannon once sat as a student.

    A mourner embraces Nahshon Shannon after the memorial service for Nahshon’s daughter, Janessa, Saturday at Rodgers Middle School in Riverview.
  2. Trump: Aircraft carrier a symbol of America's might (w/video)


    NORFOLK, Va. — With praise and a blessing for the military, President Donald Trump helped hand over the USS Gerald R. Ford to the Navy on Saturday and said the state-of-the-art aircraft carrier will send a "100,000-ton message to the world" about America's military might when it is ultimately deployed.

    President Donald Trump commissions the USS Gerald R. Ford on Saturday in Norfolk, Va.
  3. Kushner discloses additional $10M in assets


    WASHINGTON — President Donald Trump's son-in-law and senior adviser Jared Kushner "inadvertently omitted" more than 70 assets worth at least $10.6 million from his personal financial disclosure reports, according to revised paperwork released Friday.

  4. Police: Errant U.S. bombing kills 12 Afghan security forces


    KABUL, Afghanistan — An errant U.S. airstrike confirmed by the Pentagon killed 12 Afghan National Police officers and wounded two others, as another 11 police were killed and six wounded in clashes with the Taliban, Afghan officials said Saturday.

  5. Races are reversed in a police killing, and again a family asks: Why?


    MINNEAPOLIS — There was something bad going on in the alleyway behind the house, she told her fiancé on the phone, someone who sounded as if she was in distress, maybe a rape. It was past 11 p.m., and most people on Washburn Avenue were furled in their beds.

    joint cutline 1 inch 1 inch of body type 1 inch 1 inch of body type 1 inch 1 inch of body type 1 inch 1 inch of body type 1 inch 1 inch of body type 1 inch 1 inch