Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Green rewards for 'Art of Recycling' winners

Fourteen prizes totaling $3,500 were given out at the "2010 Art of Recycling Exhibit," open through March 26 at the Pasco County School District building at 7227 Land O'Lakes Blvd.

Winners are:

• Commissioner's Choice: Julia Medina, Wiregrass High, for "Save the Earth or all these Animals Will be Shadows."

• Best Environmental Concept: Christina Landers, Ridgewood High, for "The Hand of Time."

• Most Innovative: James McCabe, Pasco High, for "Electronics Alive."

• Best Use of Materials: Eric Butler, Bishop McLaughlin Catholic High, for "Never Forget, Always Protect."

• Committee Recycling Award: Juliana Diaz and Kelly Ratcliff, Wiregrass High, for "Explosion."

• Best Artistic Expression: Ayssa Baladad, Ridgewood High, for "Don't Clog the Earth."

• Pasco Arts Council Special Merit: Alexander Vonderheide, Wiregrass High, for "Corporate Luggage."

• Best Use of Newspaper: Anna Ptak, Genesis Preparatory School, for "Bubble Trouble."

• People's Choice: Hope Swaim, Bishop McLaughlin High, for "Be Sweet to the Environment."

• Coca-Cola Best Use of Aluminum: Courtney Pages, Pasco High, for "The Earth Dinner."

• Coca-Cola Best Use of Plastic: Andrew Park and Marvin Keys, Wiregrass High, for "Keep the Earth Fresh."

• Third place overall: Jake Goldsmith, Pasco High, for "A Day in My Shoes."

• Second place overall: Jonathan Cuthbertson, homeschool, for "Recycling Grows on You."

• Covanta First Place overall: Kelly Burke, Ridgewood High, for "Shoo Fly Don't Bother Me."

Green rewards for 'Art of Recycling' winners 03/09/10 [Last modified: Tuesday, March 9, 2010 4:47pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Jones: Bucs need success to get national respect


    Tampa Bay Times columnist Tom Jones offers up his Two Cents on the world of sports.

    No respect

    Tampa Bay Buccaneers head coach Dirk Koetter walks the field during the second day of mandatory minicamp at One Buccaneer Place in Tampa, Fla., on Wednesday, June 14, 2017. LOREN ELLIOTT   |   Times
  2. Hopes fade after landslide destroys Chinese village (w/video)


    Crews searching through the night in the rubble left by a landslide that buried a mountain village under tons of soil and rocks in southwestern China found 15 bodies, but more than 110 more people remained missing.

    Vehicles and people line a road leading to the site of a landslide in Xinmo village in Mao County on Saturday in southwestern China’s Sichuan Province. More than 100 people remained missing after the village was buried under tons of rocks and soil.
  3. Rookie Jake Faria dissatisfied with performance in Rays' loss to Orioles

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — The rookie pitcher walked to his locker Saturday after tossing the fourth quality start in as many tries to begin his career. He held the potent Orioles bats to three runs and for six innings gave his team a chance to win.

    Orioles third baseman Manny Machado tags out the Rays’ Mallex Smith at third after a rundown in the first inning.
  4. Thousands converge in two St. Pete locations celebrating LGBT rights

    Human Interest

    ST. PETERSBURG — Tom Rockhill didn't know what to expect Saturday, but by noon people were knocking on the door of his bar Right Around the Corner in Grand Central.

    (From left to right) Emma Chalut 18, gets a rainbow sticker on her cheek from her sister Ellie, 15 both of Jacksonville before the annual St. Pete Pride parade in downtown St. Petersburg on Saturday. This year the route was changed from the Grand Central and Kenwood area to Bayshore Drive.
[EVE EDELHEIT   |   Times]
  5. Retired Florida Supreme Court Justice Parker Lee McDonald dies

    TALLAHASSEE — A former Florida Supreme Court justice, who wrote a decision that prevented lawyers from excluding jurors because of their race, has died.

    Former Florida Supreme Court Justice Parker Lee McDonald died Saturday, the court said in a statement. He was 93.