Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Hernando High Agriscience Fair and Science Fair winners

Striking gold at Hernando High's Agriscience Fair

BROOKSVILLE — More than 100 students brought 80-plus projects to this year's Hernando High School Agriscience Fair. The gold-rated projects, winning their class, are eligible to participate in the State FFA Agriscience Fair held in Orlando in June. Here are the AgriScience Fair results:

Botany, Division I

Gold: Haley Jensen, Destin Smith, Andrew Nixon, Chandler Ross and Tana McDaniel; Silver: Heather Weeks, Elisha Pager, David Goodwin, Tristan Chatham and Alaina Avirett; Bronze: Summer Solovitch, Sasha Thoopthong, Ciara Collier, Korrissia Lasko, Chris Santiago and Emily Stead.

Botany, Division II

Gold: Stephanie Aubertin, Darren Niethammer, Trey Hostetter and Rachel Benfield; Silver: Mary Thomas, Holly Epley, Michael Morgan, Sheena Matter and Brooke Thomas; Bronze: Jeanette Foster, Joseph Ricottilli, Sam Schorb, Amber Chrisley-Cole and Destiny Hunter.

Botany, Division III

Silver: Megann Myers and Marissa Mancillas; Bronze: Chelsea Gatland, Natasha Gibbs, Lindsay Norris, Kathryne Voyles, Alissa Short and Nicole Arick.

Zoology, Division I

Gold: Kirsten Walker; Silver: Caitlin Bainum, Samantha Lowder and Heather Desin; Bronze: Zacary Ross, Lauren Lindhout and Megan Vanderford.

Zoology, Division II

Silver: Justin Gragg and Emily Carle.

Zoology, Division III

Bronze: Brooke Johnson, Caitlin Lorensen, Katrina Carroll, Katelyn Brown, Dalton Murphy, Ben Hughes, McKenzie Metcalf and Cheyenne Nobles.

Zoology, Division IV:

Gold: Kayla Cole, Willow Fletcher, Melissa Ritter and Krysta Penney; Silver: Olivia Gentile, Elizabeth Rossbach, Haley Griffin and Katie Vitko; Bronze: Mariah McGuire, Thomas Fernandez, Megan Fogarty and Christa Kendall.

Microbiology, Division I

Gold: Isabella Laughinghous; Silver: Ariel Leibensperger and Rebecca Morgan; Bronze: Cheyenne Duket.

Microbiology, Division II

Gold: Delaney Ahrens; Silver: Ashley Sims, Courtney Stoll and Nicole Bennett; Bronze: John Cooper and Meagan Jones.

Microbioloby, Division III

Bronze: Brianna Durso and Taylor Milligan.

Microbiology, Division IV

Bronze: Paige Mayer, Cardeja Baylor, Paisley Bell and Jonique Hudson.

Environment, Division I

Gold: Lily Botts.

Environment, Division II

Gold: Kathleen Ward, Tabatha Loose and Amanda Faunce; Silver: Brittany Hill and Trae Ratliff; Bronze: Casey Stewart and Anthony Lamb.

Environment, Division III

Gold: Allison Coelho and Shayanne Mumma; Silver: Tim Hughes and Dalton Lawson.

Engineering, Division I

Gold: Wesley Beyer.

Engineering, Division II

Silver: Amanda Miller; Bronze: Brianna Groves.

Engineering, Division III

Silver: Walter Vanderkooy and Matt Presnell; Bronze: Paige Ellerbee and Katelyn Brower.

Hernando High's Science Fair winners

Hernando High School's Science Fair was held in January.

The winners of the science fair were: first place, Anna Clark; second place, Kelsey Kolasa; third place, Delaney Ahrens.

Joining Clark, Kolasa and Ahrens at the district competition will be Shayanne Mumma, Courtney Moyer, Stephen Skipper, Cheyenne Sowder and Jessica Kimble.

Hernando High Agriscience Fair and Science Fair winners 02/16/11 [Last modified: Wednesday, February 16, 2011 7:47pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. AP Top 25: Alabama first, FSU, UF, Miami and USF all in top 20


    As expected, Alabama will start the season at No. 1 in the AP Top 25.

  2. Hollywood lost a serious filmmaker in Jerry Lewis


    The day the clown died, Hollywood lost a serious filmmaker in Jerry Lewis.

    Jerry Lewis in 2005. Lewis, the comedian and filmmaker who was adored by many, disdained by others, but unquestionably a defining figure of American entertainment in the 20th century, died on the morning of Sunday, Aug. 20, 2017, at his home in Las Vegas. He was 91 (New York Times)
  3. Game of Thrones: 'Beyond the Wall' is dark and full of terrors


    In the battle between the living and the dead, you win or you get the dragon queen to come rescue you.

    Beric Dondarrion (Richard Dormer) and Jon Snow (Kit Harrington) in Game of Thrones Season 7, episode 6.
  4. The Tampa Bay Rays are unlikely to make a decision on whether the team will leave Tropicana Field until after the St. Petersburg mayoral election, people close to the negotiations believe.
  5. Live video: See how the solar eclipse is unfolding across the country


    Americans with telescopes, cameras and protective glasses staked out viewing spots along a narrow corridor from Oregon to South Carolina to watch the moon blot out the midday sun Monday in what promised to be the most observed and photographed eclipse in history.

    A family sets up a tent at their campsite at sunrise for the solar eclipse Monday, Aug. 21, 2017, on the Orchard Dale historical farm near Hopkinsville, Ky. The location, which is in the path of totality, is also at the point of greatest intensity. [Associated Press]