Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Hernando newsmakers


Pasco-Hernando Community College: Eight Pasco-Hernando Community College students were nominated to the 2011 Phi Theta Kappa All-Florida Academic Team. The 108-member team represents Florida's state, community and junior colleges, and one independent university.

The students representing PHCC are Alejandra Acevedo of Wesley Chapel, Erik Briggs of Zephyrhills, Bridget Fenster of New Port Richey, Andrew Grimmer of Hudson, and James Aristilde, Brandon Forman, Pranav Lokin and Alivia Strong, of Spring Hill. The students were selected based on their academic achievement, leadership and community service. These students will be honored at an awards ceremony at Florida State University's University Center Club in Tallahassee on April 7.

Hernando High School: These students placed at the Future Business Leaders of America state competition. Genelle Burgan, third place, business calculations; Bryanna Adkison and Rebekah Benfield, fifth place, business presentations; Stephanie McMahon, third place, business procedures; David Adams, second place, introduction to business communications; Chelsea Crawford, second place, job interview; Samantha Zrimsek, fourth place, public speaking I; Cole Bergstrom, third place, technology concepts; Arissa Williams, fifth place, technology concepts; Mariah Owens, third place, word processing I; Anna Clark, first place, word processing II; Paris Madrey, fourth place, word processing II.

Hernando newsmakers 03/02/11 [Last modified: Wednesday, March 2, 2011 6:44pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Why the Lightning would consider trading Jonathan Drouin

    Lightning Strikes

    TAMPA — This summer, the Lightning could trade one of its most dynamic young players ever.

    Tampa Bay Lightning left wing Jonathan Drouin (27) celebrates with his team on the bench after beating Chicago Blackhawks goalie Scott Darling (33) to score his second goal of the period and to tie the score at 4 to 4 during second period action at the Amalie Arena in Tampa Monday evening (03/27/17).
  2. Why the Lightning should keep Jonathan Drouin

    Lightning Strikes

    Keep him.

    Jonathan Drouin is live bait. The Lightning is ready to run the hook through him and cast him out there again. Drouin has enough talent for the Lightning to meet some defensive needs in a deal.

    Keep him.

    Lightning wing Jonathan Drouin celebrates after beating Los Angeles Kings goalie Peter Budaj during the first period of Tuesday's win in Tampa. [DOUGLAS R. CLIFFORD   |   Times]
  3. Romano: When a life is more valuable than an arrest

    Public Safety

    Before examining the details, let's propose a question:

    This is a handout request to accompany school portraits of Joey Boylan, who died of a drug overdose and who is being written about in John Romano's column for Sunday. We'd like to run a mug of Joey with the column. Any of the first three attached pictures would be fine to use. We don't need them all. Just pick your favorite portrait and put that in the system. Thanks.
  4. Bono visits with former President George W. Bush


    A surprising photo showed up Friday on former President George W. Bush's Instagram feed. Apparently Bono made a visit to the ranch.

    Former President George W. Bush and Bono.
  5. After trip's final day, Trump to return to tumult at home


    TAORMINA, Italy — Down to the final day of his lengthy first international trip, President Donald Trump will lift off for Washington having rattled some allies and reassured others, returning to a White House that sits under a cloud of scandal.

    G7 leaders sign the G7 Taormina Statement on the Fight Against Terrorism and Violent Extremism at the G7 Summit in Taormina, Italy on Friday.  (Sean Kilpatrick/The Canadian Press via AP)