Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Hernando school district's History Fair winners, place-finishers announced

The Hernando County school district's annual History Fair took place Feb. 25 at Springstead High School.

Students with first- or second-place finishes are eligible to advance to the state History Fair in Tallahassee on April 29 and 30 and May 1. These students placed at the fair:

Junior division

Individual exhibits: First place, Julia Kolbasiuk, Powell Middle; second, Emily Kolbasiuk, Powell; third, Holly Miranda, Challenger K-8; fourth, Caroline Johnston Challenger K-8.

Group exhibits: First place, Heather McCausland and Amelia Schmidt, Explorer K-8; second place, Cassidy Parkes and Jordyn Galarneau, Powell Middle; third place, Brice Bennett and Bradley Pierce, Challenger K-8; fourth place, Olivia Hughes and Devina Cappucci, Powell.

Historical papers: First place and Best of Show, Lane Whittaker, Parrott Middle; second place, Danielle DePaul, Powell; third place, Azalea Smith, Parrott; fourth place, Jerome Joynes Walker, Fox Chapel Middle.

Individual documentary: First place, P.J. DiGatetano, Powell Middle; second place, Rachel Bedard, Powell; third place, Matthew Haddadin, Challenger K-8; fourth place, Shannon Cook, Parrott Middle.

Group documentary: First place, Brittany David, Madison Smith and Kassandra Burbine, West Hernando Middle; second place, Savannah Bush and Grace Curren, Parrott Middle; third place, Kyler O'leske and Mackenzie Radtke, Challenger K-8; fourth place, Emma Roberts and Alyssa Smith, Powell.

Individual website: First place, Vasu Malhotra, Challenger K-8; second place, John Spatz, Challenger; third place, John Middleton, Powell Middle.

Group website: First place, Brett Labella and Zach Lane, Powell Middle; second place, Lindsay Croom, Danielle Carpenter and MaryKate Diffresco, Parrott Middle; third place, Colton Garrett, Ian Leibensperger and John Custer, Parrott; fourth place, Deen Brooks, Samantha French, Michelle Sommerman and Jessica Boswell, Fox Chapel Middle.

Individual performance: First place, Kalie Carlton, Powell Middle.

Group performance: First place, Savannah Nix and Abigal Linville, Powell Middle; second, Cameron Okula, Dylan Conrad and Gabriel Carlson, Powell.

Senior division

Individual performance: First place, Jacob Rice, Nature Coast Technical High.

Group performances: First place, Andrea Purvis, Sandy Bolis, Will Allen and Madison Jones, Springstead High; second place, Thoa Tran, Ngc Tran, Damien Forbell, Allyson Kuhn and Kasey Collins, Springstead.

Individual website: First place, Best of Show, Robyn Cotney, Springstead High; second, Lucy Fuller, Springstead; third, Maria Pelora, Nature Coast.

Group website: First place, Mikey Bennett, Alex Franklin and Jonas Gonzalez, Springstead High; second place, Sabrina Impreso and Chandler Griffin, Springstead; third, Courtney Jones, Nicole Lecours and Ashley Singer, Weeki Wachee High.

Historical papers: First place, Dominic Rufa, Springstead High; second place, Nicole Cannon, Springstead; third place, Joe Carolina, Nature Coast Technical High.

Individual documentary: First place, Livia Ohinion, Springstead High; second place, Hank Deslaurier, Springstead; third place, Kelsey Kolasa, Hernando High; fourth, Emily Cascio, Nature Coast Technical High.

Group documentaries: First place, Nina Morales and Sarina Singh, Springstead High; second place, Anthony Azzurro, John Brown, Dereck Newman and Richard Corbin, Nature Coast Technical High; third place, Alyssa Cooper and Erin Mitchell, Nature Coast.

Individual exhibit: First place, Gordon Appleton, Springstead High; second place, Elisha Pager, Hernando High; third place, Kylie Van Meter, Springstead; fourth place, Alexandria Gagnon, Nature Coast Technical High.

Group exhibits: First place, Ashley Principe, Monica Surrena and Alivia Duncan, Springstead High; second place, Cherline Bazille, Megan Armenilli, Mai Tran, Chemar Davis and Danish Hasan, Springstead; third place, Julia Rifino and Brooke Fausta, Nature Coast Technical High; fourth place, Justin Zimmerman and Brennan Ertle, Hernando High.

Hernando school district's History Fair winners, place-finishers announced 03/07/12 [Last modified: Wednesday, March 7, 2012 2:45pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Here's what you need to know before you buy that Groupon vacation deal


    There are times in life that call for caution, for using that chunk of money in savings to renovate the bathroom because the bathroom is from 1974, and not in a cool way.

    ALI DOUGLASS   |   Special to the Times
  2. Zephyrhills selects company to operate planned tennis center

    Local Government

    ZEPHYRHILLS — The Zephyrhills City Council has selected a company whose owner has past ties to the tennis community in Pasco County to run the city's planned center for the sport.

  3. Rays set to activate Tommy Hunter from DL


    The Rays plan to activate RHP Tommy Hunter from the DL for Thursday's series finale against the Angels.

  4. Reporter says Republican candidate in Montana body-slammed him (w/video)


    HELENA, Mont. — Witnesses said the Republican candidate for Montana's sole congressional seat body-slammed a reporter Wednesday, the day before the polls close in the nationally watched special election. Authorities said late Wednesday that Greg Gianforte has been cited for misdemeanor assault over incident with …

    Greg Gianforte, right, receives congratulations from a supporter in Helena, Mont., in March. [Associated Press]
  5. Culpepper falls just short on 'Survivor' finale

    Human Interest

    In the end, Tampa lawyer Brad Culpepper fell just short, and the ex-Tampa Bay Buccaneer lost Survivor: Game Changers and the $1 million prize to Sarah Lacina, a police officer from Iowa.