Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Kiwanians honor students for service

SPRING HILL — The Spring Hill Kiwanis Club officially recognized Deltona Elementary School's K-Kids on March 27 at what the school called its Banner Night.

K-Kids, a Kiwanis-sponsored organization for elementary school students, "is the youngest and fastest-growing service organization for elementary students worldwide," said one of the group's facilitators, science resource teacher Donny Weed.

"Our K-Kids club will provide opportunities for members to work together in service to our school and community,'' Weed said. "Our members will develop leadership potential."

The chapter at Deltona consists of students in grades 3 through 5. Writing resource teacher Sue Roth facilitates with Weed.

At Banner Night, club officers were sworn in as leaders, and the rest of the participating students were sworn in as members in front of their parents. All received Kiwanis pins.

At this level, Weed said, the focus of the students' service is their school. They are recycling, they have held a school cleanup day and they plan to put in a garden. The club meets about two times a month to brainstorm and come up with projects.

Here are the students who signed up for membership this school year:

President, Kaylie Walker; vice president, Elijah Medina; secretary, Jennifer Munsey; treasurer, Victoria Fears; and sergeant-at-arms, Jackory Mowatt.

Membership: Victoria Adesso, Raven Bourne, Jessica Porter, Brittany Shirley, Kimber Merritt, Samantha Gouart, Laurence Rivers, Sarah Kelly, Aleesia Daignault, Hailey Schubert, Morgan Leonard, Graeson Reyes, Kayla Butts, Paola Gaier, Sarah Norford, John Spatz, Brianna Golde, Lexi Goble, Anthony Valante, Lydia Van-Dyck, Anthony Jones, Katelyn Campbell, Nicholas DeMeo, Nicholas Falcon, Jeremy Bonczek, Dominic Lamagno, Courtney Schubiger, Serena Sota, Ivan Morales, Louisa Frost, Thomas Christ, Jesse Zaker, Zachary Pugh, Dylia Maines, Emily MacAlpine, Jaden Alicea, Chelsea Honeycutt, Caitlyn Papke, Ashley Lopes, Kayla Tanner, Nathan Wood, Hyron Perez, Leighen Serama, Kenzie Phillips, Joshua Bonczek, Brittany Burkhamer, Hope Guyer, Taylor Tipton, Chreslyn Serama, Alyssa Kirkpatrick, Tessa Casey, Hannah Fears, Brandon Polise, Vincent Villicana, Amanda Garofano and Toni Aiello.

Kiwanians honor students for service 04/23/08 [Last modified: Thursday, October 28, 2010 11:54am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Jones: Bucs need success to get national respect


    Tampa Bay Times columnist Tom Jones offers up his Two Cents on the world of sports.

    No respect

    Tampa Bay Buccaneers head coach Dirk Koetter walks the field during the second day of mandatory minicamp at One Buccaneer Place in Tampa, Fla., on Wednesday, June 14, 2017. LOREN ELLIOTT   |   Times
  2. Hopes fade after landslide destroys Chinese village (w/video)


    Crews searching through the night in the rubble left by a landslide that buried a mountain village under tons of soil and rocks in southwestern China found 15 bodies, but more than 110 more people remained missing.

    Vehicles and people line a road leading to the site of a landslide in Xinmo village in Mao County on Saturday in southwestern China’s Sichuan Province. More than 100 people remained missing after the village was buried under tons of rocks and soil.
  3. Rookie Jake Faria dissatisfied with performance in Rays' loss to Orioles

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — The rookie pitcher walked to his locker Saturday after tossing the fourth quality start in as many tries to begin his career. He held the potent Orioles bats to three runs and for six innings gave his team a chance to win.

    Orioles third baseman Manny Machado tags out the Rays’ Mallex Smith at third after a rundown in the first inning.
  4. Thousands converge in two St. Pete locations celebrating LGBT rights

    Human Interest

    ST. PETERSBURG — Tom Rockhill didn't know what to expect Saturday, but by noon people were knocking on the door of his bar Right Around the Corner in Grand Central.

    (From left to right) Emma Chalut 18, gets a rainbow sticker on her cheek from her sister Ellie, 15 both of Jacksonville before the annual St. Pete Pride parade in downtown St. Petersburg on Saturday. This year the route was changed from the Grand Central and Kenwood area to Bayshore Drive.
[EVE EDELHEIT   |   Times]
  5. Retired Florida Supreme Court Justice Parker Lee McDonald dies

    TALLAHASSEE — A former Florida Supreme Court justice, who wrote a decision that prevented lawyers from excluding jurors because of their race, has died.

    Former Florida Supreme Court Justice Parker Lee McDonald died Saturday, the court said in a statement. He was 93.