Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)



• Schrader Elementary Young Authors of the Month: Dyllon Moore, Lukah Pega, Ava Zalta, Madilyn Way, Aaron Roxberry, Bella Hernandez-Collins, Brennan Carroll, Chloi Toney, Amaris Delvalle, Matthew Bocchino, Olivia Cavaliere, Kendel Modglin, Lily Jolly, Lincoln Pinto, Evan Colon, Ian Kelly, Morgan Atwater, Luke Gorman, Marilyn Ortman and Emilee Goldbaum.

Bayonet Point Middle Students of the Month: Clarice Todd, Brandon Cook, Lenora Naumann, Caleb Elhaje, Macie Helms, Andrew Taglialatela, Katlyn Gartner, Tariq Osgood, Ivy Lyn Aquino, David Rios, Jayden Gleason, Tyler Bertholf, Yasmin Robles, Nick Rosati, Jannat Butt, Jacob Hurst, Sarah Longnecker, Enver Dzilitovic, Desiree Hartman, Logan Grise, Alexis Townsend, Chris Dillingham, Julia Scales and Shawn Molnar.

Newsmakers 01/17/14 [Last modified: Friday, January 17, 2014 6:40pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. This 'SNL' writer is cracking up Twitter with his replies to President Donald Trump's tweets


    Josh Patten is a writer for Saturday Night Live. Earlier this month, he began responding to President Donald Trump's tweets as if they were private texts to Patten.

  2. Snooty the manatee's death prompts outpouring of support, petition to move Confederate monument


    BRADENTON — The South Florida Museum aquarium remains closed Monday and tributes continue to pour in following the shocking death of Snooty, the beloved manatee who captured the hearts of …

    Four-year-old Katie Blair pays her respects to Snooty at a makeshift memorial in front of the museum on Sunday. Katie and her family has visited the aquarium to see Snooty four times this year. 
Snooty was the world's oldest living manatee in captivity and celebrated his 69th birthday Friday at the aquarium. Aquarium officials described Snooty's death as a tragic accident and is being investigated. [LUIS SANTANA   |   Times]

  3. What to watch this week: 'Midnight, Texas,' Shark Week specials


    It's that time of year again. No, not back-to-school month or geek convention season - it's Shark Week.

    Midnight, Texas, a new supernatural series on NBC, premieres at 10 p.m. Monday.
  4. Trump son-in-law Jared Kushner: 'I did not collude with Russia' (w/video)


    WASHINGTON — Jared Kushner, President Donald Trump's senior adviser and son-in-law, spent about two hours Monday answering questions from Senate investigators about his contacts with Russian officials, insisting he had not colluded with foreign agents before or after the 2016 presidential campaign.

    Trump senior adviser Jared Kushner speaks to reporters outside the White House on Monday after meeting on Capitol Hill behind closed doors with the Senate Intelligence Committee on the investigation into possible collusion between Russian officials and the Trump campaign. [Pablo Martinez Monsivais | Associated Press]
  5. Polk County officials urge owner to remove pet buried at public park

    Human Interest

    Lake Wales city officials are looking for the owner who buried their dead dog in a public park.

    Lake Wales city officials are looking for the owner who buried their dead dog in a public park. [Facebook]