Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Pasco County school newsmakers


• Early Education instructor Jill Clark has been selected as Teacher of the Year at Moore Mickens Education Center. Randy Jones, who works in data entry, has been named School Related Personnel of the Year.

• The Hudson High School Battalion of the Junior ROTC congratulated Cadet Pvt. Jacob Izquierdo for being named Cadet of the Month for October. Izquierdo holds a 3.3 GPA and is taking honors courses in English. After high school he plans on attending college to receive a degree and join the Air Force.

• Dayspring Academy students Meredith Abberger and Madelynn McKellen were accepted into the People to People World Leadership Forum, and in October, they joined a select group of students in Washington, D.C. to study leadership and visit some of the most prominent monuments and institutions in the United States.

• Hudson Middle students with straight A's for the first quarter: Grade 6: Kermalea Altenburg, Bernard Arrigoni, Kahlie Ashton, Kayla Canton, Ruszelle Catli, Cana Cravens, Brandyn Davis, Caroline Dimonda, Alexis Duran, Alyssa Eytcheson, Kiley Fuller, Alexa Gernand, Nicholas Golden, Hunter Griffin, Evamarie Horner, Felicia Kirsch, Eric LaRoche, Aaron Mayer, Taryn Michalicka, Leah Neck, Miranda Prahasky, Vanessa Rodriguez, Brittany Sharp, Jacob Wentz. Grade 7: Kori Albro, Joseph Aldrich, Francesca Arrigoni, Brandon Cahill, Brandon Clark, Micah Davis, Ashleigh Day, Brandi Denhem, Allyson Dibene, Jailene Fernandez, Caitlyn Hicks, Krysta Johnes, Jenna Lambertson, Emilee Leonard, Sarah Lewis, Elizabeth Litzenberger, Mackenzie Marques, Alyssa Mattos, Kengel Maysonet, Austin Mcguire, Kylee Merwin, Cody Reeves, Lizneida Rodriguez, Audrey Sawoscinski, Christopher Snow, Jaysse Tanghal, Katelynn Towne, Cole Weinhauer. Grade 8: Danielle Balajadia, Brett Balsley, Chad Batdorf, Rachel Bradley, Erica Briggs, Jacquelyn Castro, Rayann Church, Louis Crouch, Savannah Curci, Alyssa Dierking, Krista Ditoro, Ashley Dugan, Kyli Fox, Kari Grippo, Brittany Hobbs, Chun Kwok, Ashley Leduc, Christopher Mancini, Reeba Marshall, Reebeca Marshall, Robert McCarty, Nicholas Murray, Madilyn Powanda, Stefanie Ramotar, Jacquelynn Shelton, Katie Siciliano, Karina Vega.

• Jean Halls has been named Teacher of the Year at Sunlake High. Lisa Dennison is School Related Personnel of the Year.

• Wanda Gallagher has been named Teacher of the Year at Lacoochee Elementary School. Clara Barlow is School Related Personnel of the Year.

• Melissa Salmon has been named Teacher of the Year at Calusa Elementary School. JoAnn Duckworth has been named School Related Personnel of the Year.

Pasco County school newsmakers 11/24/09 [Last modified: Tuesday, November 24, 2009 7:10pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. 'Me too': Alyssa Milano urged assault victims to tweet in solidarity. The response was massive.

    Human Interest

    Actor Alyssa Milano took to Twitter on Sunday with an idea, suggested by a friend, she said.

    Within hours of Alyssa Milano’s tweet, tweets with the words “me too” began appearing. By 3 a.m. Monday, almost 200,000 metoo tweets were published by Twitter’s count.
  2. Tampa tax shelter schemer too fat for his prison term, attorney says


    TAMPA — A federal judge sentenced two Bay area men to prison terms last week for peddling an offshore tax shelter scheme that cost the IRS an estimated $10 million.

    Duane Crithfield and Stephen Donaldson Sr. were sentenced to prison after marketing a fraudulent offshore tax strategy known as a "Business Protection Plan" to medical practices, offering doctors and others coverage against unlikely events such as a kidnapping.

  3. Weinstein Co., overwhelmed by backlash, may be up for sale


    NEW YORK — The Weinstein Co., besieged by sexual harassment allegations against its namesake and co-founder, may be putting itself up for sale.

  4. Trial begins in 2014 death of 19-month-old Tampa girl


    TAMPA — Even before his trial officially began, Deandre Gilmore had planted his gaze on the floor of Judge Samantha Ward's courtroom Monday, taking a deep breath and shifting in his seat as a pool of 60 potential jurors learned of his charges.

  5. Rick Pitino officially fired by Louisville amid federal corruption probe


    In an expected move, the University of Louisville Athletic Association's Board of Directors on Monday voted unanimously to fire men's basketball coach Rick Pitino. The decision came 19 days after Louisville acknowledged that its men's basketball program was being investigated as part of a federal corruption probe and …

    In this Oct. 20, 2016, file photo, Louisville head basketball coach Rick Pitino reacts to a question during a press conference in Louisville, Ky. Louisville's Athletic Association on Monday officially fired Pitino, nearly three weeks after the school acknowledged that its men's basketball program is being investigated as part of a federal corruption probe. [AP Photo/Timothy D. Easley, File]