Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Pasco County students honored for competitions, more

• These Gulfside Elementary students were named winners of the school-level Tropicana Speech contest: first place: Amanda Romero and Randy Nieves; second place: Samantha Mondloch and Adel Karsoun; and third place: Emily Fousek and Bradley Wheaton.

• Sunlake High senior Sarah Collins was the district winner of the PRIDE Award in Science.

• These students were named school winners of the Tropicana Speech Contest held at Calusa Elementary: first place, Vinny Smith; second place, Elaine Testa; and third place, Arianna Barrios.

• Dayspring Academy elementary students attended the District Science Fair for Pasco County, representing their school for the first time. The five placed as follows: Rachel Lucas, first place and Crystal Award; Emily Castro, first place; Kerstin Hamels, first place; Brian Spicer, first place; and Jake Greenier, third place.

• Dayspring Academy students participated in the county math competition. Christina Huang placed first among all seventh-grade students in the county. The seventh-grade math team placed second in the county.

• Students in the financial algebra class at Mitchell High School recently participated in the National Financial Capability Challenge, a voluntary online exam that measures students' financial knowledge and capability. There were 84,000 high school students across the country who participated in this year's test, which was administered by the U.S. Department of the Treasury and the U.S. Department of Education. The top students in the school were Michelle Franceschini, Shamus Heselton, Shawn Larkin, Shawn McCarthy and Amir Mision. In addition, the following students finished among the top 20 percent in the country: Michael Berendt, Kristen Bowen, Michelle Franceschini, Shamus Heselton, Justin Kerr, Shawn Larkin, Jonathan Linger, Shawn McCarthy, Amir Mision, Steven Ramsland and Cody Watkins. The top 10 percent nationally are eligible for 20 $1,000 scholarships.

Students of the month

• Hudson Middle: Cierra Lopez-Muniz, Rachel Deweerd, Dean Bryan, Patience Eskew, Carl Wolf, Audry Sawoscinski, Miranda Prahasky, Edward Graham, Dustin Larsen, James Headrick and Mililani Rosas.

• Anclote High: Rae-Ann Crawford-Rogers, Glen Moore, Jason Jones, Karisa Pelletier, Adam Humienny, Marissa Beck, Jorge Cruz-Blance and Tomara Zink.

• Moore-Mickens Education Center: Lindsay Schafer, Tiffany Blankenship, Jean Tondreau and Carlos Lazaro. Miguel Catalan was chosen as Chamber of Commerce student of the month.

Pasco County students honored for competitions, more 05/24/11 [Last modified: Tuesday, May 24, 2011 8:51pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Lightning edges Red Wings on road

    Lightning Strikes

    DETROIT — The digs were different, the Lightning seeing the masterfully-done new Little Caesar's Arena for the first time.

    Lightning center/Red Wings’ killer Tyler Johnson gets past defenseman Trevor Daley on his way to the first goal of the game.
  2. Armwood pulls away to defeat Plant 27-7, remain undefeated


    SEFFNER — First-year Armwood coach Evan Davis pulled out all the stops to get his team psyched for Monday's annual grudge match against Plant.

    Armwood defensive end Malcolm Lamar (97) gets fired up before the start of the game between Plant High School Panthers and the Armwood High School Hawks in Suffer, Fla. on Monday, Oct. 16, 2017.
  3. Clearwater police: Car thief dead after owner fires gun


    CLEARWATER — One man is dead after the owner of a car fired shots at the thieves who were stealing it Monday night, police said.

  4. Iraqi forces sweep into Kirkuk, checking Kurdish independence drive


    KIRKUK, Iraq — After weeks of threats and posturing, the Iraqi government began a military assault Monday to curb the independence drive by the nation's Kurdish minority, wresting oil fields and a contested city from separatists pushing to break away from Iraq.

    Iraqi security forces patrol Monday in Tuz Khormato, about 45 miles south of Kirkuk, a disputed city that the government seized in response to last month’s Kurdish vote for independence.
  5. Trump and McConnell strive for unity amid rising tensions


    WASHINGTON — President Donald Trump and Sen. Mitch McConnell, the Republican leader, tried to convey a sense of harmony Monday after months of private feuding that threatened to undermine their party's legislative push in the coming weeks to enact a sweeping tax cut.

    President Donald Trump and Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell field questions Monday in the Rose Garden of the White House. “We have been friends for a long time,” Trump said.