Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Pasco County's school newsmakers

• At the Florida State Science Fair, Bishop Larkin Catholic School eighth-grader Mark Detlor received third place in Junior Chemistry and sixth-grader Luke Detlor received recognition in Junior Engineering.

• These students from Hudson Elementary were selected to represent their school in the west side Book Battle held in May: Eric Kunzing (captain), Leilia Tirone (alternate captain), Chayan Ahuja, Vinnie Gaines, Andres Pelayt, William Sadr and Kenny Wheeler.

•The Florida Council on Economic Education and Publix Super Markets Charities recently announced the winners of the 33rd annual Governor's Awards for Excellence in Teaching Economics. The event was held May 11 at the House of Blues in Orlando. Winners from Pasco County include: first place in project based categories: Eric Johnson, Carmen Johnson, Lex Ledford and Royce Simonds, Fivay High School. Second place in project based categories: Maryanne Meyer, River Ridge High School. Third place in project based categories: Mathew Kirouac, Wesley Chapel High School.

Students of the Month

Gulf Middle: Bryan Horn, Kayla Lacerte, Samantha Gillis, Punthamit Saenngarm, Brittany Rutherford, Josh Wojtas, Chandler Sheldon, Veronica Castillo-Martinez, Tommy Martin, Amber St. Laurent, Jessica Bryant, Van Uk, Kaleigh Quinn, Jakub Pawelec, Christopher Hamilton and Alec Muir.

• Hudson Elementary: Christian Beckwith, Isabella Navarra, Magdalena Zygmunt, Ava Grenke, Hannah Britton, Chloe Groves, Alexis Tackett, Michael Ortiz, Madelynn Harper, Sammantha Platt, Jayden Thornton, Kierra Eich, Zachary Williams, Damien Hunter, Jasmin Blossfield, Jocelyn Whitesel, Nathan Flowers, Zachary Hewitt, Alannha Aretino, Elizabeth Edwards, Malorie Phillips, Zjayla Nelson, Mia Shellem, Annika Sly, Abigail Mitchelson, Joseph Teresi, Nicholas Manzi, Keely Fisher, Harmony Henderson, Chrissy Mulyck, Donavin Smith, Breezie Tussing, Devin Hutchins, Andrew Solis, Sierra Grzyb and Cheyenne DiFabio.

Pasco County's school newsmakers 06/05/12 [Last modified: Tuesday, June 5, 2012 4:03pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Winner and loser of the week in Florida politics


     Winner of the week

    Peter Antonacci. Gov. Rick Scott tapped his go-to utility player to lead his Florida job recruiting agency, Enterprise Florida, having previously picked him for his general counsel, to lead the South Florida Water Management District and to serve as Palm Beach state …

  2. On the Camino de Santiago, Day 19: A peregrina spends the whole day under the weather, and part of the day under the table


    Day 19: El Burgo Ranero to Puente Villarente: 25.4 km, 7.5 hours (Total for Days 1-19 = 454 km (282 miles)

    This list pretty much sums up my day:

    Eat two bananas

    Walk 13.1 kilometers


    Walk 6.2 kilometers


    Eat half an apple

    Walk 6.1 kilometers

    Crash< …

  3. Storm routs Cleveland


    TAMPA — Alvin Ray Jackson intercepted two passes, returning one for a touchdown, and recovered two fumbles as the Storm routed Cleveland 57-27 Saturday night in its home regular-season finale at Amalie Arena.

  4. Miscue sends Rays to another stinging loss to Rangers (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — The Rays gave away DJ Kitty onesies Saturday night. Then they gave away the game.

    Rays centerfielder Mallex Smith misses a drive hit by Adrian Beltre with two outs in the sixth, allowing the tying runs to score. Beltre puts Texas ahead 4-3 when he scores after two wild pitches.
  5. Rowdies shut out Charleston


    ST. PETERSBURG — The Rowdies know a thing or two about stalemates, with five of their past 10 games ending in a draw.

    Rowdies in the first half during the game between Tampa Bay Rowdies and the Charleston Battery at Al Lang Field in St. Petersburg, Fla., on Saturday, Jul 22, 2017.