Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Pasco newsmakers


• The Pasco Education Foundation Inc. recently announced the results of its first "Cinderella's Favorite Dessert" competition held on Feb. 8. The Cinderella Ball Committee's co-chairs, Diane Heiler and Kathryn Starkey, and event coordinator René Greismer organized this special event to allow Pasco's high school culinary academies the opportunity to showcase their own desserts. The overall winning team, which garnered first place for most creative and show of difficulty, was Cinderella Sunrise, created by student chefs Erica Kemper and Holly VanSciver from Marchman Technical Eduction Center. Other entries included Citrus poached Pear with Southern Bread pudding, by Rob Loblein and Jaylon Gilbert from Anclote High; Jacques Lemon-Ginger Cheese Confection, Gus-Gus's Turtle Cheesecake Delight and Luxurious Tuxedo Cheesecake Concoction by Alisha Derome, Angel Bueno, Brady Brown, Bailey Bryant, Emilea Ballou, Amanda Zito, Briana Gillispie and Katelyn Hooper from Fivay High; Lucifer's Wicked Charm, Make You Lose Your Slipper Mocha Martini by Janine Gordon and Lindsey Monson. All of the desserts were featured at the Pasco Education Foundation's annual gala, the Cinderella Ball, Saturday night.

• Thirteen prizes with a total cash value of $2,250 were recently awarded in the 2011 Art of Recycling Art Contest. Winners were Best Artistic Expression: Eunice Lavaly, Zephyrhills High; Best Environmental Concept: Grey Petrin, Ridgewood High; Best Use of Materials: Kelley DeVinney, River Ridge High; Best Use of Printed Materials: Mercedes Knotts, Pasco High School; Commissioners Award: Kayleigh Boyce, Ridgewood High; Most Innovative: Christopher Sta.Ana, Ridgewood High; Pasco Art of Recycling Committee Award: Koralyn Vohwinkle, Anclote High; Pasco Arts Council Award: Monique Zippert, Ridgewood High; People's Choice Award: Ariel Heaton, Wesley Chapel High; RESOURCE Recycling Club of Pasco Award: Jessica Hall, Fivay High; First Place: Rachel Lewis, Anclote High; Second place: Abigail Degrandchamp, Ridgewood High; Third place: Darcey Mcgalliard, Zephyrhills High.

Pasco newsmakers 03/15/11 [Last modified: Tuesday, March 15, 2011 3:21pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours