Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Seven Springs Middle teacher wins service-learning award

• Seven Springs Middle School teacher Cynthia Tehan received the Steven J. Tunick Service-Learning Award at a state conference in Orlando. This award is given to one educator each year who has had a significant impact on service-learning, which combines community service with classroom instruction. Tehan received the award for her outstanding support and sustained commitment of over 12 years to service-learning. The Florida Learn and Serve Initiative is funded by the Corporation for National and Community Service and conducted under the Bureau of Family and Community Outreach within the Florida Department of Education. Support is provided by the University of Florida. For information, check out Tehan's website at and click on "Lead the Pack."

Science Fair winners

River Ridge Middle: Jessica Babcock, Tyler Strouse, Aum Patel, Colin Pompilio, Caroline Kanos, Andre'a Pereira, Landon Atwood, Katie Miesner, Brianna Leone, Micaela Newman, Shannon Hess, Emma Peterson, Ben Bailey and Nicholas Pasek. These students will compete in the district Science Fair in January.

• Sunlake High: First place: Rachael Mandel and Sara Sturgess; second place: James Stewart and Lindsey Ortega; third place: Christopher Harmon, Natalie Valdes, Sara Pickernell and Zach Scranton. Honorable mention: Aaron Aucoin, Steven Carter and Tian Tran. Eight students were selected to participate in the Pasco County Regional Fair to be held in February: Christopher Harmon, Rachael Mandel, Lindsey Ortega, Sara Pickernell, Zach Scranton, James Stewart, Sara Sturgess and Natalie Valdes.

Students of Month

River Ridge Middle: Mikayla Belsanti, C.J. McKenna, Haley Prudham, Giolie Garnada, Devon Bosco, Kassidy Wells, Violet Olsen, Matt Porter, Sandra Nunez, Miranda Saporito, Chris Schwarz, Kenneth Lilly, Shayla Bell-Francis, Landon Atwood, Jimmy Vo, Vincent Pedata, Nina Mackin, Jordan Nickels, Thomas DeCanio, Jonathan Santiago, Ashleigh White, Holden Maier, Jon Gloria, Thomas Salfio, Brooke Vecsey, Brendon Bray and Connor Everling. Special classes Students of the Month: reading: Bridget Harmon; fine arts: Sam Graveline; physical education: Santhy Joseph; CTE: Hannah Maclemale; media: Madison Jacoves; guidance: Sara Beckner; reading: Michael Nova.

Hudson Elementary: Kileen Keegan, Brandon Melvin, Scott Pfenniger, Bobby Griffin, Dylan DeWitt, Elizabeth Hutchins, Ariana Kallio, Destiny North, Halle Joyner, Elizabeth Doubler, Thayna Downing, Amanda Wade, Victor Reyes, Lily Edwards, Natalie Walsh, Kayliann Libby, Morgan Chapman, Alannha Aretino, Tanner Wysong, Alexis Becker, Deven Hutchins, Jayce Jablon, Dayna Brownell, Jason Wilson, Yasmeak Martin, Keely Fisher, India Gall, Cody Sterbens, Kayla Haigler, Marionna Merwin, William Long, Noah Henry, Adeline Degitz, Jessica McConnel, Delaney McKillop, Alyssa Banfill, Collin Anthonino.

Seven Springs Middle teacher wins service-learning award 01/25/11 [Last modified: Tuesday, January 25, 2011 12:14pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours