Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Three School Board seats up for grabs

Pinellas School Board member Carol J. Cook was elected to her third term Friday after no one filed to run against her in the Aug. 26 primary.

Cook, a 57-year-old Clearwater resident, represents District 5.

Her election leaves 13 candidates who will compete for three seats on the seven-member board.

For the District 1 at-large seat, incumbent Janet Clark faces Jennifer S. Crockett, Max Loden and Grant Smith.

In the District 2 at-large race, five candidates are running to replace Nancy Bostock, who is running for County Commission. They are David O. Archie, Nina Hayden, Minetha Morris, Sean O'Flannery and Ron Walker.

Four candidates are competing for District 4 — Chris Hardman, Steven D. Isbitts, Ken Peluso, and Robin L. Wikle.

If no candidate receives a majority vote in the primary, the two with the most votes will compete in the Nov. 4 general election.

Three School Board seats up for grabs 06/21/08 [Last modified: Monday, June 23, 2008 10:34am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours