Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

20 Pinellas students named to Suncoasters' Junior Sungoddess Court

ST. PETERSBURG — Twenty young women, representing nearly every high school in Pinellas County, have been named to the 2011 Junior Sungoddess Court.

The scholarship program, presented by the Suncoasters of St. Petersburg, was established in 1955 to recognize high school girls in Pinellas County who are active in their schools and communities and who maintain good academic standards.

Named to the court are Darlyce Beach and Keona Welch of Gibbs High School; Kelsey Fredrickson, Zoe Green, Samantha McCuskey, Abigail Nickens and Kelly Vasbinder, all of St. Petersburg High School; Katelyn Greenleaf, Northside Christian High School; Sarah Hierl, Countryside High School; Alana Horner, St. Pete Collegiate High School; Alexis Klym, Bailey Monarch and Erin Moore, East Lake High School; Valiece Long, Clearwater High School; Mary Monk, Seminole High School; Laurel Morois, Shorecrest Preparatory School; Danielle Price, Osceola High School; Lisa Rickards, Largo High School; Lauren Russell, St. Petersburg Catholic High School; and Shante Shedrick, Lakewood High School.

The top three members of the court will be announced March 4. The 2011 Junior Sungoddess and two runners-up will receive more than $5,000 in scholarships and awards from American Momentum Bank, the Suncoasters and other sponsors.

The Suncoasters represent nearly 200 business leaders who have produced the Festival of States since 1956. The civic group also presents the All Children's Hospital Clown Alley program, the All County Music Fest, the Scholastic Art Awards, the Illuminated Night Parade for the Grand Prix and a 5K and 1-mile run.

20 Pinellas students named to Suncoasters' Junior Sungoddess Court 02/15/11 [Last modified: Tuesday, February 15, 2011 2:42pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Nearly 1 in 4 Tampa Bay homeowners considered equity rich

    Real Estate

    If your home is worth at least 50 percent more than you owe, you're rich — equity rich that is.

    About one in four Tampa Bay homeowners are considered "equity rich." [Associated Press file photo]
  2. Trump strategist Steve Bannon: No military solution in North Korea


    BRIDGEWATER, N.J. — President Donald Trump's chief strategist Steve Bannon says there's no military solution to the threat posed by North Korea and its nuclear ambitions, despite the president's recent pledge to answer further aggression with "fire and fury."

    Steve Bannon, chief White House strategist to President Donald Trump, has drawn fire from some of Trump's closest advisers. [Associated Press]
  3. Rays have their chances, but end up with another loss (w/video)

    The Heater

    TORONTO — The litany of games the Rays have given away this season is long enough, arguably too lengthy. So the only way to get to the postseason is make up for some of those losses by grabbing some wins when the opportunity is presented, especially at this time of year when the margin is diminished and the stakes …

    Associated Press
  4. Dunedin man accused of possessing child pornography


    DUNEDIN — A 57-year-old man was arrested Wednesday, accused of intentionally downloading child pornography, the Pinellas County Sheriff's Office said.

    Richard Beal Anger, 57, of Dunedin faces 11 counts of possession of child pornography. [Courtesy of the Pinellas County Sheriff's Office]
  5. Pence cuts short Latin America trip and pressures Chile to sever all ties to North Korea


    SANTIAGO, Chile — Vice President Mike Pence is cutting short his Latin America trip by one day to return to Washington for a strategy meeting Friday at Camp David with President Donald Trump and the national security team.

    Vice President Mike Pence urged Chilean President Michelle Bachelet to take a tougher stand against North Korea on Wednesday in Santiago, Chile.