Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

2010 Barnes Scholarship semifinalists selected

Fifty-five high school seniors from the Tampa Bay area have been selected as semifinalists for the 2010 Barnes Scholarship, offered through the St. Petersburg Times Fund Inc.

A total of 350 students from public and private schools in Citrus, Hernando, Pasco, Pinellas, Hillsborough and Manatee counties applied. A Barnes Scholarship is worth up to $60,000 over four years at an accredited U.S. college or university. Each year, four winners are selected. In 2009, the St. Petersburg Times Fund will provide more than $170,000 in financial aid to college students through the Barnes Scholarships.

Established by the St. Petersburg Times Fund in 1999, the scholarships are named after Andrew Barnes, retired chairman and CEO of the St. Petersburg Times. The Barnes Scholarships target college-bound high school seniors who have overcome significant obstacles in their lives while remaining committed to academic achievement and community service.

The 31 young women and 24 young men who are the semifinalists for the 2010 Barnes Scholarships now must complete the second portion of the application, providing answers to essay questions as well as family financial information, high school transcripts and test scores, and letters of recommendation. This information will be reviewed in early January, and 10 finalists will be selected from the 55 semifinalists. The 10 finalists will be interviewed in late January. The four winners of the 2010 Barnes Scholarships will be announced in February.

Since 2000, 24 Barnes Scholarship winners have graduated from their undergraduate programs. Sixteen are still enrolled. They are attending Harvard, Yale, MIT, Cornell, Duke, the University of Chicago, Bowdoin College, Eckerd College, the University of Florida, University of California-Berkeley, the University of Tampa and Florida State University.

The St. Petersburg Times Fund is the not-for-profit philanthropic arm of the St. Petersburg Times. It has provided scholarships for college students since 19536.

For more information about the Barnes Scholarship program or the St. Petersburg Times Fund Inc., contact Nancy Waclawek, director of the fund, at (727) 893-8780 or The fund's Web address is

Citrus County

Madison Douglas-Seay, Citrus High

Jonathan Johnson, Lecanto High

Michael Mission, Citrus High

Dylan Neale, Lecanto High

Heather Snyder, Lecanto High

Hernando County

Elise Boyles, Springstead High

Jessie Leasure, Hernando High

Mark Lombardi-Nelson, Springstead High

Hillsborough County

Molly Alexander, East Bay High

Krina Amin, Hillsborough High

Bruna Bouhid, Robinson High

Neina Chapa, East Bay High

Samuel Conner, Bloomingdale High

Kevin Ellis, Brandon High

Domenique Escobar, Sickles High

Marcus Featherston, Lennard High

David Garcia, Leto High

Nathaniel Gizaw, Gaither High

Malika Gumpangkum, King High

Kelsey Harris, East Bay High

Justin Jones, Chamberlain High

Cameron Kim, Durant High

Thien-Linh Le, King High

Midori Maeda, Wharton High

John-Henry Marley, King High

Toan Nguyen, Robinson High

Jose Perez, Hillsborough High

Brandon Proctor, Gaither High

Karen Rodriguez, Hillsborough High

Taira Salahutdin, Berkeley Preparatory School

Briana Smith, Robinson High

Sarah Talley, Academy of the Holy Names

GianCarlo Troncoso, Hillsborough High

John Villegas, Wharton High

Katherine Yerkes, Freedom High

Manatee County

Kelsy Braun, Palmetto High

Andres Romero, Southeast High

Pasco County

Kaliopi Amorgianos, Ridgewood High

Anna Armitage, River Ridge High

Zachary Fortier, River Ridge High

Lauren Freeman, Gulf High

Heather Garvison, Pasco High

Anh-My Nguyen, Ridgewood High

Charity Schrader, Ridgewood High

Nicholas Simons, Mitchell High

Katlan Sterling, Pasco High

Pinellas County

Mijana Djurdjevic, St. Petersburg High

Krishna Lakkaniki, East Lake High

Anh Nguyen, Pinellas Park High

Marko Predic, St. Petersburg High

Rinsha Prophete, Gibbs High

Kristin Rebescher, St. Petersburg High

Gurdeep Singh, Boca Ciega High

William Vebert, East Lake High

Shantaviae Wynn, Berkeley Preparatory School

2010 Barnes Scholarship semifinalists selected 12/04/09 [Last modified: Saturday, December 5, 2009 8:58pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours