Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Central High School honors students during Evening of Excellence awards event

On May 20, Central High School had its annual Evening of Excellence awards recognition program.

Subject awards were presented to: Elena Hoogland, English I; Avery Johnson, English II; Carolyn Newton, English III; Priscilla Swint, English IV; Christina Macri, dual enrollment English; Dhruv Patel, outstanding freshman science; and Stephanie Wert, Jenny Ho, William Jackson, Mallori Brooks, Louis Petro, Layla Schuster and Jessica Flammia, science.

Stephanie Wert, Jenny Ho, Louis Petro and Thomas Koster, math; Sarah Kaspers, Spanish I; William Jackson, Spanish II; Jenny Ho and Anna Costello, Spanish III; Melia Orrell, Spanish IV; Jeidy Beltran, Spanish native speaker; Pedro Pena, Spanish heritage speaker; Anthony Sanderson, German I; Anny Hung, German II; David Farmer, German III; Stephen Novotny, German IV; Zachary Holung, German Advanced Placement; Carissa Maynard and Michael Ray, French I; Daniela Crespo, French II; Monae Johnson and Sarah Burda, French III; Stephanie Kerney, French dual enrollment.

Citizenship awards were presented to: Kenneth Brown and Chelsea Toland, freshmen; Trey Adams and Ana Bui, sophomores; Louis Petro and Erica Aguiar, juniors; James Reichow and Carly Terriot, seniors.

Art awards were presented to: Meagan Eng, Christina Macri, Danielle Doyal, Kailee Martinez, Lorissa Haley and Gina Stuccio.

Louis Petro received the academic team award, and Brittany Bloom and Tyler Reagan received the Technology Oriented Performance Program award.

Business awards were presented to: Anthony Sanderson, Avery Johnson, Lisa Ciresi and Dawn Zasa. Theater arts awards were presented to: Stephanie Tavolaro and Cassandra Rivera. DECA awards were presented to: Michelle Venezia and Krysten Cortalano.

Corinne Demers and Ebony Hunter received the Early Childhood Education I award, and Jessica Kropik and Jennifer Middleton received the Early Childhood Education IV award. Geoffrey Brooks and Sean Zahringer received the Culinary Arts I award; Courtney Fox, Culinary Arts II; Rachel Ianello and Renee Larson, Culinary Arts III, and Ariel Ceccarelli, Culinary Arts IV.

Navy Junior ROTC Legion of Merit awards went to: Carly Territo, Phylicia Irons, James Reichow and Quynn Fonseca. Navy Junior ROTC Distinguised Service awards went to: Cierra Williams and Jacqueline Force.

World history awards were presented to: Daniela Crespo and Joseph Bonfardino. The American history award went to Mallori Brooks, and the American government award went to Layla Schuster.

Zachary Holung and Vera Shaw received economics awards; Layla Schuster, the Advanced Placement U.S. government award; Kristin Gousse and Thomas Koster, the AP psychology award; Ashley Williams, the European history award; Zachary Martin and Quankeeria McKenzie, the physical education award; Breanna Warren and Jonathan Ventimeglia, the driver education award, and Maria Davis, Jessica Maraglia and Lauren Adams, the health science education award.

Matthew Epley, Marangeline Oyola, Madelyn Lutz and Christopher Lucas, received the Exceptional Student Education award; Vanessa Lobo, the Turnaround award, and Sarah Bute, the National Honor Society award.

Senior school awards were presented to: Cierra Willliams and James Patrick for service/character; Carly Terriot and James Reichow, leadership; Jacqueline Force and Dominick Logroi, volunteer service; Stephanie Arnold and Zachary Rice, outstanding student; Sarah Bute and Jaime Martinez, achievement; Angela Hilger and Trevor Jones, improvement; Quynn Fonseca and Clifton Davis, school spirit, and Phylicia Irons and Thomas Koster, merit.

BETA officers recognized were: Alexandra Cario, president; Cassidy Buckley, vice president; Ashley Williams, secretary; Krysten Cortalano, treasurer, and Emily Jones, historian.

Reading achievement awards were presented to: Lauren Roberts, ninth grade; Derek Kito, 10th grade; Cassandra Conrad-Roberts, 11th grade, and Kristen Leonard, 12th grade.

English for Speakers of Other Languages achievement awards were presented to: Xavier Astacio and Sujintra Pinthong. Yearbook awards were presented to: Mary Vu, Kaitlyn Davison and Cierra Williams. Jennifer Dees received the chorus award; Anneliese Rosser, the band award, and Meagan Eng and Jon Morgan, the graphic design award.

Accelerated reading awards were presented to: Kristi Cornett, first place; Megan Nowell, second place; Sarah Bute, third place, Dominick Logori, fourth place, and Phillip Robertson, fifth place.

Auto mechanics awards were presented to Timothy Hintz and Joseph Treanor.

Athletic/academic award winners for 2010 were: Thomas Armstrong, Candice Catalano, Kelsey Chesteen, Bryana Eady, Quynn Fonseca, Sarah Lynch, Sean Murphy, Zachary Rice, Layla Schuster and Carly Territo.

Central High School honors students during Evening of Excellence awards event 05/29/10 [Last modified: Saturday, May 29, 2010 12:13pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Trumps travel ban to be replaced by restrictions tailored to certain countries


    WASHINGTON — President Donald Trump's ban on travelers from six majority-Muslim countries is set to be replaced as soon as this weekend with more targeted restrictions on visits to the United States that would vary by country, the New York Times reports, citing officials familiar with the plans.

    President Donald Trump's ban on travelers from six majority-Muslim countries is set to be replaced as soon as this weekend with more targeted restrictions on visits to the United States that would vary by country, officials familiar with the plans said Friday. The new restrictions, aimed at preventing security threats from entering the United States, could go into effect Sunday after the conclusion of a 90-day policy review undertaken as part of the administration's original travel ban. Though the restrictions would differ for each country, people living in the targeted nations could be prevented from traveling to the United States or could face increased scrutiny as they seek to obtain a visa. [Associated Press]
  2. New World Brewery is closing. Where will all its concerts go now?


    Ever since it was announced that New World Brewery was closing its beloved Ybor City location and relocating to a spot farther north, there’s been an outpouring of nostalgia from artists, promoters and fans throughout the Tampa Bay music scene.

    Allison Weiss performed at New World Brewery in 2015.
  3. Farewell, New World Brewery: 11 Tampa music scene regulars toast a beloved venue


    It's hard to put into words what New World Brewery has meant to the Tampa music scene over the past 22 years.

    Matt Burke and Have Gun, Will Travel, shown performing at New World Brewery in 2009. Burke credits the venue with shaping how the band wanted to develop.
  4. Betsy DeVos rescinds Obama-era rules on campus sexual assault


    Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos has said over and over again that sexual assault on campus is an issue she wants to get right.

    Education Secretary Betsy DeVos
  5. In dollars: How valuable are Florida's university football programs?


    The University of Florida football program is valued in a new study at $682 million, making it the most valuable university team in the state but still worth far less than several college programs topping $1 billion. Four years ago, UF's program was valued at just under $600 million.

    The University of Florida football program is valued at  $682 million, making it the most valuable by far in the Sunshine State. Pictured are UF cheerleaders leading the crowd in a Gator cheer on Clearwater Beach last December during the Outback Bowl Beach Day on Clearwater Beach. [SCOTT KEELER   |   Times]