Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Eight O'Clock Theatre wins 9 Lary Awards

Eight O'Clock Theatre took home top honors in nine categories at the LARY Awards ceremony Oct. 4 at the Largo Cultural Center.

The Larys are Tampa Bay's version of Broadway's Tony Awards, with theater companies vying in several acting and backstage categories. The Lary Awards are named for Lary Crews, who founded the magazine, Theatre Grapevine, a community theater magazine based in Clearwater. Winners are chosen by popular vote of the magazine's subscribers.

Awards Eight O'Clock Theatre received

Favorite Drama: Proof.

Favorite Director, Drama: Rand Smith, Proof.

Favorite Actress, Drama: Ashlie Mohney, Proof.

Favorite Actor, Drama: TJ Gill, Proof.

Favorite Supporting Actor, Drama: Travis Moore, Proof.

Favorite Choral/Orchestra: Director, Emi Stefanov, Guys and Dolls.

Favorite Choreographer: Ronnie DeMarco, Guys and Dolls.

Favorite Lighting Design: C.J. Marshall, Guys and Dolls.

Favorite Back Stage Person: Janet Tucker.

Eight O'Clock Theatre wins 9 Lary Awards 10/10/09 [Last modified: Saturday, October 10, 2009 4:30am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Two boys in critical condition after Largo crash


    LARGO — A 7-year-old boy was thrown from a car in a head-on crash on Starkey Road, and both he and a 6-year-old boy were in critical condition Sunday night, according to the Florida Highway Patrol.

  2. Trump's new order bars almost all travel from seven countries


    WASHINGTON — President Donald Trump on Sunday issued a new order banning almost all travel to the United States from seven countries, including most of the nations covered by his original travel ban, citing threats to national security posed by letting their citizens into the country.

    President Donald Trump speaks to reporters Sunday upon his return to the White House in Washington.
  3. Somehow, Rays' Chris Archer remains just shy of being an ace

    The Heater

    BALTIMORE — Chris Archer had another bad game Sunday.

    Chris Archer is sputtering to the finish line, his rough start on Sunday his fourth in his past five in which he hasn’t gotten past four innings.
  4. In Mexico City, hopes of finding quake survivors dwindle


    MEXICO CITY — Five days after the deadly magnitude 7.1 earthquake, the hulking wreckage of what used to be a seven-story office building is one of the last hopes: one of just two sites left where searchers believe they may still find someone trapped alive in Mexico City.

    Rescue workers search for survivors inside a felled office building in the Roma Norte neighborhood of Mexico City on Saturday.
  5. GOP health bill in major peril as resistance hardens among key senators


    WASHINGTON — The floundering Republican attempt to undo the Affordable Care Act met hardening resistance from key GOP senators Sunday that left it on the verge of collapse even as advocates vowed to keep pushing for a vote this week.

    Sen. Susan Collins, R-Maine, a moderate, said Sunday that it was “very difficult” to envision voting for this health-care bill.