Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Times reporter Lane DeGregory honored by Society of Professional Journalists

St. Petersburg Times staff writer Lane DeGregory has been named a Fellow of the Society of Professional Journalists in recognition of her "extraordinary contribution to the profession," the SPJ announced.

She becomes the third Times journalist so honored, joining former chairmen Nelson Poynter and Eugene Patterson.

Other journalists to receive the award in recent years include the late Tim Russert of NBC, Bob Woodward of the Washington Post, Woodward's former Post partner Carl Bernstein, and World War II-era correspondent Ernie Pyle.

The SPJ said the selection committee "was impressed with DeGregory's knack for bringing readers into the lives of people living on the margins of society. As a reporter on real people's lives, DeGregory's commitment to staying in touch with the people she writes about is noteworthy."

"Besides her excellent writing, what clinched this honor for DeGregory is her willingness to help share her knowledge with other younger journalists who aspire to learn the craft she has mastered so well," said John Ensslin, a member of the selection committee.

DeGregory, 44, joined the Times in 2000. She won the 2009 Pulitzer Prize for her story "The Girl in the Window," about a severely neglected child who was adopted by a family in Fort Myers Beach.

She has won numerous other national awards, including the American Society of News Editors award for nondeadline writing, the ASNE Batten Medal for writing that showed "a deep concern for the underdog," the Ernie Pyle Award for human interest writing, and the National Headliner award for feature writing.

In 2009, DeGregory received the Paul Hansell Award from the Florida Society of News Editors for her distinguished achievement in Florida journalism.

DeGregory lives in Gulfport with her husband and their two teenage sons. She will receive the SPJ award at a banquet on Sept. 27 in New Orleans.

Times reporter Lane DeGregory honored by Society of Professional Journalists 08/29/11 [Last modified: Monday, August 29, 2011 11:11pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Observations from a liberal, gay, Latino, feminist Florida House freshman


    State Rep. Carlos Guillermo Smith, D-Orlando,  rocked the Florida LGBTA Democratic Caucus dinner at Tallahassee's Hotel Duval Satursday night with his unabashedly liberal and passionate take on the myriad issues he said are key to LGBTQ Floridians. Among them: Access to guns, Reproductive rights, home …

    Carlos G. Smith
  2. Delta Sigma Theta honors outgoing national president

    Human Interest

    During her four years as national president of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Paulette Walker said she always focused on the comma between "Sorority" and "Inc."

    Paulette Walker, the former director of undergraduate programs and internship in the College of Education at the University of South Florida, will be honored on Saturday for her leadership in the Delta Sigma Theta sorority.
  3. 10 sailors missing, 5 hurt in collision of USS John S. McCain

    SEOUL —Ten U.S. Navy sailors are missing and five have been injured after the USS John S. McCain destroyer collided with an oil tanker near Singapore early Monday morning.

    In this Jan. 22, 2017, photo provided by U.S. Navy, the USS John S. McCain patrols in the South China Sea while supporting security efforts in the region. The guided-missile destroyer collided with a merchant ship on Monday, Aug. 21, in waters east of Singapore and the Straits of Malacca. Ten sailors were missing, and five were injured, the Navy said. [James Vazquez/U.S. Navy via AP]
  4. Pasco County Fire Rescue fighting a two-alarm fire started by an explosion


    Two houses are on fire and one victim has been critically burned and taken to a trauma center following an explosion at a home at 8652 Velvet Dr, in Port Richey.

  5. Rays see the Blake Snell they've been waiting for in win over Mariners

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — It was a one-run game Sunday when the Mariners' Robinson Cano singled with one out in the seventh inning, bringing the dangerous Nelson Cruz to the plate.

    Tampa Bay Rays starting pitcher Blake Snell (4) throwing in the third inning of the game between the Seattle Mariners and the Tampa Bay Rays at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Sunday, Aug. 20, 2017.