Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Times, affiliates garner 20 journalism awards

ST. PETERSBURG — The St. Petersburg Times and its affiliated Web sites won 20 awards — including 11 first-place prizes — in the annual Green Eyeshade competition, recognizing journalistic excellence in the southeastern United States.

Florida Trend, a business magazine owned by the Times, also won two awards, including one first place. won first place in political reporting for Bill Adair, Matt Waite and Martin Frobisher. Adair also won first place for the print story "Three words that changed U.S. politics," which chronicled the genesis of the phrase "bridge to nowhere" to describe political pork.

Staff writer Jacob H. Fries won a first-place award for a story that chronicled his voluntary 48-hour stay in the crowded Pinellas County Jail. The online version of the story on also won a first-place award for Fries, multimedia designer Lee Glynn and photographer Douglas R. Clifford.

Multimedia designer Desiree Perry, staff writer Meg Laughlin and news artist Don Morris won first place for the online presentation of "Doubt," a story about a man's questionable murder conviction. Morris, Laughlin and news artist John Corbitt also won second place in print graphics for "Doubt."

Business reporter Helen Huntley won first place for her account of music producer Lou Pearlman's arrest in Indonesia. Staff writer Sydney Freedberg won first place for enterprise business reporting about questionable incentives the government gives to companies.

Photographer John Pendygraft won first place for feature photography for "Paycheck to Paycheck," which showcases people struggling to make ends meet. Sports columnist John Romano won first place for "A story for Jake," which told about an Army major killed in Iraq and the family that survived him.

The Times staff also won first place for the online breaking coverage of sexual abuse allegations against St. Petersburg City Council Member John Bryan, who committed suicide. Sports reporter Dave Scheiber won first place for a story about a softball game between American and Japanese World War II veterans.

The Times and also won four second-place awards and five third-place awards.

The Green Eyeshade Awards, sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists, honor the best of journalism in 11 southeastern states. The awards are in their 58th year.

Times, affiliates garner 20 journalism awards 07/22/08 [Last modified: Wednesday, July 23, 2008 10:06am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rays Journal: Duda home run sets Rays record


    BALTIMORE -- With one swing of the bat, Rays DH/1B Lucas Duda broke a team record and tied a personal mark in Saturday's game against the Orioles that was not complete at press time.

    Lucas Duda, right, watches his three-run home run against the Orioles.
  2. Brooksville motorcyclist crashes into pole, dies


    BROOKSVILLE — A motorcyclist crashed into a utility pole and died Saturday evening, the Florida Highway Patrol reported.

  3. Woman dead in St. Petersburg shooting


    ST. PETERSBURG — A woman died in a shooting Saturday night, according to the St. Petersburg Police Department.

  4. For starters: Rays at Orioles, with a different look to things


    The Rays wrap up their four-game series with the Orioles today and their lineup has a different look, with C Wilson Ramos, OF Steven Souza Jr. and 3B Evan Longoria all getting the day off.

    The Rays are starting their All-Star, RHP Chris Archer, who needs wins in his final two outings to even his record, going …

  5. All-eyes photo gallery: Florida State Seminoles loss to the N.C. State Wolfpack


    View a gallery of images from the Florida State Seminoles 27-21 loss to the N.C. State Wolfpack Saturday in Tallahassee. The Seminoles will face Wake Forest on Saturday, Sept. 30 in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

    Florida State Seminoles fans sing the fight song during the Florida State Seminoles game against the North Carolina State Wolfpack on September 23, 2017, at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee, Fla.  At the half, North Carolina State Wolfpack 17, Florida State Seminoles 10.