Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Familiar faces returned to New Port Richey City Council

NEW PORT RICHEY — Judy DeBella Thomas kept her seat on the New Port Richey City Council and will be joined by businessman Bill Phillips, who returns to the council after nearly 20 years, voters decided Tuesday.

DeBella Thomas, Phillips, and longtime government consultant Eric Rhodes vied for two open seats on the council, as council member Ginny Miller decided not to run.

Phillips received 39.84 percent of the vote, getting the most at 349, with DeBella Thomas getting 32.88 percent at 288, and Rhodes coming in third with 27.28 percent at 239.

With the city facing serious economic woes, Phillips said he is looking to hit the ground running to tackle the city's budget problems. Phillips, a national account manager for a Lakeland-based roofing company, is no stranger to the council. He served one term between 1992 and 1994, before running an unsuccessful campaign for the Florida House of Representatives.

Phillips, who has lived in New Port Richey for 24 years, not only served on the council, but also several committees, including the Pasco County Impact Review Committee, the Penny for Pasco Committee as co-chairman, and the Pasco Citizens Committee.

"I look forward to getting on council and having an opportunity to make a difference again," Phillips said. "It's really nice to see a lot of the same faces come back to vote."

DeBella Thomas, 60, a marketing liaison for Advanced Research Institute, a company that conducts pharmaceutical clinical trials, secured her third term on council since first being elected in 2008, and re-elected in 2009.

DeBella Thomas has lived in New Port Richey since 1972. She is former executive director of Greater New Port Richey Main Street, and currently sits on the Pasco Tourist Development Council, as well as the Sixth Circuit Court Judicial Nominating Committee.

DeBella Thomas didn't talk issues with her win Tuesday night, but thanked voters for another term on the council.

"It's an affirmation voters are pleased with my performance and I'm ready to get back on track. We're just going to hit the ground running," she said.

Port Richey voters approve referendum

Meanwhile, in Port Richey, voters passed a referendum 50-27 that will settle confusion over term lengths of incumbents Steve O'Neill, Nancy Britton, and Terry Rowe, who all won seats unopposed.

On qualifying day, city officials scrambled when they realized there was no measure outlined in the city's charter to decide who among the three will serve a one-year term. If there had been an election, the candidate who received the least amount of votes would have received the one-year term.

When all three won unopposed, a referendum had to be drawn up to ask voters to amend the charter to allow for a volunteer among O'Neill, Britton, and Rowe to take the one-year term. Or if there is no volunteer, the three will draw straws. With the measure passing Tuesday, straws will likely be drawn at the council's swearing in and organizational meeting April 16, unless there is a volunteer, according to City Clerk Tammy Schuck.

Familiar faces returned to New Port Richey City Council 04/10/12 [Last modified: Tuesday, April 10, 2012 9:40pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. A historic Tampa family saves a historic Tampa home built by an ancestor

    Human Interest

    The Knight family has replaced their roof and people are celebrating.

    The Peter O. Knight historical cottage, located in Tampa's Hyde Park neighborhood, is seen Thursday, July 20, 2017. The cottage fell into disrepair in recent years, but the Knight family stepped up with financial support to help stabilize the structure.
  2. Miami woman, 74, admits to voter fraud. Does jail await, or will she go free?

    State Roundup

    MIAMI — An 74-year-old woman pleaded guilty Monday to filling out other people's mail-in ballots while working at Miami-Dade's elections department.

    Gladys Coego
  3. In Twitter rant, Bucs' Gerald McCoy says he's unappreciated


    Gerald McCoy is feeling underappreciated again. He says somebody has crossed the line this time. He's speaking out and suggesting he might be gone "soon enough" from Tampa Bay.

    Photo Illustration RON BORRESEN   |   Photo by LOREN ELLIOTT   |   Times 
Gerald McCoy may be upset that Ronde Barber said a defensive leader “has to have a huge personality’’ like Warren Sapp’s. Monday, Barber walked that back.
  4. Bigger ships carry Georgia ports to record cargo volumes

    Economic Development

    SAVANNAH, Ga. — Bigger ships arriving through an expanded Panama Canal pushed cargo volumes at Georgia's seaports to record levels in fiscal 2017, the Georgia Ports Authority announced Monday.

    The Port of Savannah moved a record 3.85 million container units in fiscal 2017, the state said, benefiting from the larger ships that can now pass through an expanded Panama Canal.
  5. Photo gallery: Nine years later, library attack victim Queena works at learning to walk again


    Slowly, Queena Phu is learning the act of walking again through exercises in locomotion, strength and balance.
    She practiced her steps once again Monday afternoon with trainer-technician Mike Lopez at the nonprofit Stay In Step Spinal Cord Injury Recovery Center near the University of South Florida.
    Queena …

    Activity based exercise trainer George Palang, 33, and trainer technician Mike Lopez, 22, help Queena Phu during physical therapy at the Stay In Step Spinal Cord Injury Recovery Center on Monday, July 24, 2017, in Tampa, Fla.