Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Most fire board members in Lealman and Pinellas Suncoast elected without opposition

Most candidates for seats on two independent fire boards had no opposition when filing closed Friday. But voters in the unincorporated Lealman area will see a three-way battle for Seat 1 on that area's fire commission.

Incumbent Lawrence "Larry" G. Schear drew no opposition for his seat on the Pinellas Suncoast Fire & Rescue commission. Also taking seats on that board will be Laura T. Martin and James C. Terry. Suncoast serves Belleair Beach, Belleair Shore, Indian Rocks Beach, Indian Shores, and the unincorporated Oakhurst area.

Incumbent Vivian Diane Campbell will retain her seat on the Lealman Fire Commission. Also elected to that board was Jay D. Alexander.

Incumbent Linda Campbell, who is not related to Vivian Diane Campbell, will face John Frank and Eric A. Blum in November. Frank is a former member of the Lealman board whom other members kicked off because they said he does not live in the district, which is a requirement for serving the board. Frank denies the charge. Blum is a consultant.

The Lealman Fire District is located generally between the cities of St. Petersburg and Pinellas Park. It extends generally from Interstate 275 to Park Street. Kenneth City, which lies in the center, is not a part of the district.

Most fire board members in Lealman and Pinellas Suncoast elected without opposition 06/09/12 [Last modified: Saturday, June 9, 2012 4:31am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Rays beat Orioles, but tough stretch looms that could change their plans (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Tuesday was a step back in the right direction for the Rays, who halted a season-high five-game losing streak by hanging on — and we mean that pretty much literally — for a 5-4 win over the Orioles.

    The Rays’ Tim Beckham celebrates with Mallex Smith after hitting a three-run homer in the second inning for a 5-0 lead.
  2. Diaz, Taddeo win easily in special Miami Senate primaries


    Two Miami state Senate candidates who raised and spent the most in their respective primaries — Republican Rep. Jose Felix Diaz and Democratic businesswoman Annette Taddeo — notched easy victories in a special election Tuesday night.

    Republican candidate Jose Felix Diaz is surrounded by supporters after he won the primary for Florida’s Senate District 40 race. Democrat Annette Taddeo, right, celebrates her victory with supporter Venus Lovely at BJ’s Restaurant in The Falls.
  3. In live debate, Kriseman and Baker ask St. Pete: Is the city better off?



    Mayoral candidates Rick Kriseman and Rick Baker made their best pitch to voters in front of a live television audience on Tuesday night. The candidates essentially asked this: Is the city better off now than it was four years ago?

    Incumbent Mayor Rick Kriseman and former Mayor Rick Baker debate in front of a live television audience during the City of St. Petersburg Mayoral Debate at the Palladium Theater in St. Petersburg on Tuesday evening. The event was sponsored by the Tampa Bay Times and Bay News 9. [DIRK SHADD   |   Times]
  4. Romano: It all comes down to sewage in this mayoral race

    Local Government

    Well, poop.

    Nothing else really matters, does it?

    Schools, economic development, public safety? Pfft. The Rays stadium, affordable housing, the pier? Ack. When it comes to the St. Petersburg mayoral election, sewage is the yin, the yang and the yuck.

    At Tuesday’s debate, incumbent Mayor Rick Kriseman said responsibility lies on him regarding the sewage crisis.
  5. Shooting sends man to hospital in St. Pete


    ST. PETERSBURG — Police were investigating a shooting that occurred around 4:40 p.m. on Tuesday and sent a man to the hospital.