Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Volunteer board members in Hernando resign over liability waiver

BROOKSVILLE — Within 24 hours of the Hernando County Commission's decision Tuesday to continue requiring members of advisory boards to sign liability waivers, five of those members or potential members announced they would not serve.

Three of them are on the county's embattled Aviation Authority, where the liability issue originated. Member Derrill McAteer, resigned effective Thursday. Morris Porton and Ron Wilhite told Commission Chairman Dave Russell they plan to resign.

Russell said he had also heard from Sonny Vergara, a former executive director for the Southwest Florida Water Management District, and Vergara's wife, Pam.

Sonny Vergara had been set to apply for the county's Fine Arts Council but said he would not do so if the waiver were required. His wife resigned Thursday as an alternate on the county's Planning and Zoning Commission.

"This is going to seriously inhibit our ability to attract quality leadership to our advisory boards and seriously hinder our ability to retain those leaders,'' Russell said.

Russell on Tuesday strongly urged the County Commission to exclude advisory boards from the waiver requirement faced by other county volunteers. He admitted that he had made the original motion to approve the waiver policy two years ago but hadn't realized the implications.

It came to light recently that not all volunteers and not all advisory council members had signed the waivers holding the county harmless on any "losses, damages, or injuries caused or alleged to be caused in whole or in part by the negligence of the County.''

The issue arose when the majority of the County Commission declined to pay the legal fees of Aviation Authority Chairman Gary Schraut, who is being sued by an airport tenant for defamation, which is not covered by county insurance.

Several weeks ago, the county sent out notice to those volunteers and advisory board members who had not yet signed the waiver. By Tuesday, all but about 20 of the 70 volunteers had signed. On Monday, a new letter went out to those who didn't sign. This letter included a paragraph explaining that volunteers are covered under the county insurance if they are acting in their official capacity with the county.

Commissioners Diane Rowden, Wayne Dukes and Nick Nicholson, the same three commissioners who denied Schraut legal representation, voted on Tuesday to keep the policy, including advisory boards, in place.

They had argued previously that Schraut was not acting in his county capacity when he told Tampa Bay Times columnist Dan DeWitt that the airport tenant and his company were ""troublemakers, were liars, were bomb throwers and were like terrorists.''

The commission is slated to determine next week whether to let go of volunteers who won't sign. Russell said that if he cannot persuade another commissioner to change their vote ''we might as well just send out the pink slips.''

Volunteer board members in Hernando resign over liability waiver 12/11/13 [Last modified: Wednesday, December 11, 2013 8:10pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Whitman: Hollywood whitewashing raises questions about Jesus' depiction


    I grew up believing in white Jesus.

    A painting on my grandma's wall depicted a blonde, blue-eyed Christ.

  2. Special sorority seeks ways to help their Green Berets and themselves during St. Leo summit


    ST. LEO — Julie Huynh-Rusk lies down on the floor of a St. Leo University conference room, covered by a blanket and a pink eye-pillow.

    Julie Huynh-Rusk, 31, of Seattle, takes advantage of a meditation session at Saint Leo University on Wednesday as part of the Steel Mags Summer Summit. 
The Steel Mags Sorority was founded to help spouses, daughters, mothers, and sisters of  Green Berets. [ALESSANDRA DA PRA  |   Times]

  3. Watch: Sarasota vlogger goes on viral rant against MTV's 'Siesta Key'


    Looking forward to MTV’s Siesta Key? Well, this Florida native definitely is not.

    Vlogger Louie Carey posted his reaction to MTV's "Siesta Key" in a viral video.
  4. On the Camino de Santiago, Day 23: Of tiny towns, wonderful naps and dreamlike ice cream bars


    Day 23: Murias de Rechivaldo to Foncebadon: 20.8 km, 6 hours. Total for Days 1-23 = 541 km (336 miles)

  5. Where Tampa's national championship ranks among the greatest games ever


    If you needed any more convincing that Tampa's national championship at Raymond James Stadium was one of the best games in college football history, let me direct you to