Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Election qualifiers

Election qualifiers

2008 ballot set for Hernando voters

BROOKSVILLE — The qualifying period for candidates seeking spots on the Aug. 26 primary election ballot ended Friday.

These candidates either will be on the primary ballot (contested party primaries or nonpartisan contested races); or will move on to the Nov. 4 general election; or have been elected without opposition.

Voter registration for the primary election ends July 28. Early voting for the primary takes place Aug. 11-24. For more information, contact the Supervisor of Elections Office at 754-4125, or visit the Web site at hernando

County Commission

District 1

Ramon Gutierrez (D) (moves on to the general election)

Michael Burmann (R)

Jeff Stabins (R) (incumbent)

Jon Zydenbos (R)

District 3

Diane Rowden (D) (incumbent; moves on to general election)

John Druzbick (R)

Hubert "Wayne'' Dukes (R)

Charles Gaskin (R)

County Commission, District 5

Christopher Kingsley (D) (incumbent; moves on to general election)

James Adkins (R)

William "Billy'' Healis III (R)

Michael Robinson (R)

School Board (nonpartisan)

District 2

Pat Fagan (wins without opposition)

District 4

Gene Magrini

Robert Neuhausen

James Yant

Clerk of the Circuit Court

Karen Nicolai (R) (wins without opposition)

Property Appraiser

Alvin Mazourek (R) (wins without opposition)

Sheriff (no primary; candidates move to general election)

Luke Frazier (D)

Richard Nugent (R) (incumbent)

Marc Reusch (write in)

Supervisor of Elections (no primary; candidates move to general election)

Shirley Anderson (R)

Gus Guadagnino (no party)

Annie Williams (D) (incumbent)

Tax Collector

Juanita Sikes (D) (wins without opposition)

Spring Hill Fire and Rescue (nonpartisan; election is Nov. 4)

Seat A

George Biro

Amy Brosnan

Benjamin Edwards

Robert Giammarco

James Monk

John Pasquale

Brooksville City Council (nonpartisan; election is Nov. 4)

Group 2

Cecil Davis

David Pugh Jr.

Group 3

Jason Sharp (wins without opposition)

State Senate

District 11

Mike Fasano (R) (incumbent)

Richard Skandera (D)

Fred Taylor (D)

District 15

Paula Dockery (R) (wins without opposition)

State House

District 43

Ron Schultz (R) (wins without opposition)

District 44

Rob Schenck (R)

Sarah Roman (Green Party)

Joseph Puglia (D)

Aaron Whitaker (D)

State Attorney

Brad King (R) (wins without opposition)

Public Defender

Howard "Skip'' Babb Jr. (R) (wins without opposition)

County Judge

Kurt Hitzemann (wins without opposition)

5th Circuit Court judges (nonpartisan; contested races on primary ballot; all others win without opposition)

Group 3

Sandy Hawkins

Michael Lamberti

Denise Lyn

Group 5 Richard Tombrink

Group 6 Mark Hill

Group 9 William Jack Singbush

Group 10 Jonathan Ohlman

Group 11

Richard Howard

Rhonda Portwood

Group 12 Don Briggs

Group 13 Jack Springstead

Group 14 Richard Singletary

Group 15 Sandra Edwards-Stephens

Group 18 Michael Johnson

Group 21 Brian Lambert

Group 22 Curtis Neal

Group 26 Steve Rushing

Group 27 Carol Falvey

Group 28 Mark Nacke

2008 ballot set for Hernando voters 06/20/08 [Last modified: Thursday, June 26, 2008 11:08am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. No toll lanes north of downtown Tampa in three of four interstate proposals


    TAMPA — Express lanes may not be coming to downtown Tampa after all. Or at least not to the stretch of Interstate 275 that goes north through Bearss Avenue.

    Seminole Heights resident Kimberly Overman discusses the new interstate options with V.M. Ybor resident Chris Vela (left), Hillsborough County Commissioner Pat Kemp and HNTB consultant Chloe Coney during a Tampa Bay Express meeting Monday night at the Barrymore Hotel. [CAITLIN JOHNSTON  |  Times]
  2. No lack of issues facing St. Petersburg's six council candidates


    ST. PETERSBURG — The six candidates for City Council gathered Monday evening in the very chamber to which they aspire to serve.

    St. Petersburg City Council candidates (from left)  Brandi Gabbard and Barclay Harless in District 2; Jerick Johnston and incumbent council member Darden Rice in District 4; and Justin Bean and Gina Driscoll of District 6. All six candidates appeared at Monday night's forum at City Hall sponsored by the League of Women Voters. [CHERIE DIEZ   |   Times]

  3. Iraq's Kurds vote on independence, raising regional fears


    IRBIL, Iraq — Iraqi Kurds voted Monday in a landmark referendum on supporting independence, a move billed by the Kurdish leadership as an exercise in self-determination but viewed as a hostile act by Iraq's central government. Neighboring Turkey even threatened a military response.

    People celebrate Monday after voting closed in a referendum on independence in Irbil, Iraq.
  4. North Korean diplomat says Trump has 'declared war'


    UNITED NATIONS — North Korea's top diplomat said Monday that President Donald Trump's weekend tweet was a "declaration of war" and North Korea has the right to retaliate by shooting down U.S. bombers, even in international airspace.

    North Korean Foreign Minister Ri Yong Ho, center, speaks outside the U.N. Plaza Hotel in New York on Monday.
  5. Pinellas grants St. Pete's request to add millions to pier budget

    Local Government

    Times Staff Writer

    The Pinellas County Commission has granted St. Petersburg Mayor Rick Kriseman's request to dedicate millions more toward the city's new pier.

    The St. Petersburg City Council on Thursday  voted 7-1 to appropriate $17.6 million for the over-water portion of the Pier District. This is a rendering of what the new Pier District could look like. [Courtesy of St. Petersburg]