Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Hawkins outspent, but wins seat on 5th Judicial Circuit Group 3

The runoff race for a seat on the 5th Judicial Circuit bench put prosecutor Sandy Hawkins in familiar territory.

In 2006, the 53-year-old Belleview resident's three-way race went to an extra ballot before she lost by 2 percentage points to a candidate who outspent her 12 to 1.

This time a similar story: Her opponent, Inverness lawyer Denise Lyn, forced this second contest and outspent her 6 to 1. But Tuesday night, it ended differently.

Preliminary results showed Hawkins headed to a clear victory over Lyn. But she was too nervous to watch. Reached at home, Hawkins was in her pajamas reading a Stephen King novel when she found out she won.

"I'm just so surprised," she said. "I was outspent, outsigned, the whole thing."

In higher courts, Florida Supreme Court Justice Charles Wells held on to his post by more than a 3-to-1 margin. Likewise, Kerry I. Evander, C. Alan Lawson, Richard B. Orfinger, Chief Justice William David Palmer and Thomas D. Sawaya all handily won retention votes for another six years on the 5th District Court of Appeal.

John Frank can be reached at or (352) 754-6114.

Hawkins outspent, but wins seat on 5th Judicial Circuit Group 3 11/04/08 [Last modified: Tuesday, November 4, 2008 11:27pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Numerous lapses add up to frustrating Rays loss to Twins

    The Heater

    MINNEAPOLIS — While the Rays made some good defensive plays, threw a couple of big pitches when they needed to and got a few, and just a few, key hits, there were some obvious things they did wrong that led to them losing Saturday's game to the Twins 5-3:

    Rays reliever Tommy Hunter says the Twins’ tiebreaking homer came on a pitch that was “close to where I wanted it.”
  2. Why the Lightning would consider trading Jonathan Drouin

    Lightning Strikes

    TAMPA — This summer, the Lightning could trade one of its most dynamic young players ever.

    Wing Jonathan Drouin could be the only piece that Tampa Bay has to acquire a badly needed top-tier defenseman.
  3. Ryan Hunter-Reay running strong as he seeks a second Indianapolis 500 title

    Auto racing

    Ryan Hunter-Reay isn't a big jewelry fan.

    Ryan Hunter-Reay, who won Indy in 2014, is a contender for a second title in today’s 101st running. He qualified 10th, had the third-fastest practice lap and his team is looking strong.
  4. As Trump's overseas trip ends, crisis grows at home (w/video)


    President Donald Trump headed home Saturday to confront a growing political and legal threat, as his top aides tried to contain the fallout from reports that his son-in-law, Jared Kushner, is a focus of investigations into possible collusion between Russia and the president's campaign and transition teams.

    President Donald Trump waves as he exits Marine One on Saturday at Naval Air Station Sigonella in Sicily, Italy. After a nine-day trip overseas, the president is returning to Washington.
  5. Tributes pour in for Zbigniew Brzezinski, an 'influential voice' in politics (w/video)


    WASHINGTON — Well before he went to the White House in 1977, Jimmy Carter was impressed by the views of foreign policy expert Zbigniew Brzezinski. That Carter immediately liked the Polish-born academic advising his campaign was a plus.

    Foreign policy expert Zbigniew Brzezinski died Friday.