Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Hernando recount confirms Cynthia Moore, Ken Fagan as winners


Times Staff Writer

BROOKSVILLE — A full recount for two Hernando County races has confirmed the outcomes of Election Day: Retired Brooksville educator Cynthia Moore defeated four-term incumbent Sandra Nicholson for the District 5 School Board seat, and Ken Fagan emerged victorious over Guy "Rusty'' Amore in the race for a second seat on the Spring Hill Fire Rescue Commission.

After a week of reviewing ballots by machine and by hand, the margins of victory changed only slightly by the time the recount ended Wednesday afternoon.

Moore, who had a margin of 41 votes on Election Day, ultimately won by 38 votes out of 59,565 votes cast. Fagan, who had a mere one-vote lead last week, won by five votes in a race of nearly 41,000 votes cast.

The final official results will be submitted to the state Friday afternoon, Elections Supervisor Annie Williams said.

The elections canvassing board reviewed absentee and provisional ballots last week. On Monday and Tuesday, the board oversaw an electronic recount of precinct ballots.

And Wednesday, the board reviewed so-called over- and under-votes. On these ballots, the voter either did not make a clear selection or made too many choices. Workers pulled aside questionable ballots, and Williams and County Judge Donald Scaglione pored over ballots with dots and smudges in the respective races to determine voter intent.

Nicholson's loss spoils a sweep for the three incumbents on the School Board. Members John Sweeney and Dianne Bonfield defeated their opponents in the August primary in the nonpartisan races, each on their way to a second term.

Moore took the most votes in August in a three-way race that also included Hernando High teacher Michael Bainum.

Fagan came in second behind Sherry Adler. Both have been vocal critics of the fire board.

Tony Marrero can be reached at (352) 848-1431 or

Hernando recount confirms Cynthia Moore, Ken Fagan as winners 11/10/10 [Last modified: Wednesday, November 10, 2010 12:29pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Gators rally past Kentucky, streak hits 31


    LEXINGTON, Ky. — For the second week in a row, Florida found itself storming the field in a game that came down to the last second. A 57-yard field-goal attempt by Kentucky kicker Austin MacGinnis came just a few feet short of making history and snapping a 30-year losing streak, as the No. 20 Gators escaped a …

    Florida wide receiver Brandon Powell (4) scores a touchdown during the second half of an NCAA college football game against Kentucky, Saturday, Sept. 23, 2017, in Lexington, Ky.
  2. Pen makes it way too interesting as Rays hang on for 9-6 win


    A couple of home runs provided the news pegs of the night for the Rays, but it was more topical to talk about what nearly happened as they hung on for a 9-6 win over the Orioles.

    Lucas Duda's three-run homer in the third inning was the Rays' record-breaking 217th of the season, as well as his …

  3. An attempt to project what Rays will look like in 2018

    The Heater

    BALTIMORE — We know what the Rays look like this year: a team that had enough talent but too many flaws, in construction and performance, and in the next few days will be officially eliminated from a wild-card race it had a chance to win but let slip away.

    Adeiny Hechavarria, high-fiving Lucas Duda, seems likely to be brought back.
  4. Trump fallout: Bucs' DeSean Jackson to make 'statement' Sunday


    Bucs receiver DeSean Jackson said Saturday that he will make a "statement" before today's game against the Vikings in response to President Donald Trump's comment that owners should "fire" players who kneel in protest during the national anthem.

    Tampa Bay Buccaneers wide receiver DeSean Jackson (11) makes a catch during the first half of an NFL game between the Chicago Bears and Tampa Bay Buccaneers at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla., on Sunday, Sept. 17, 2017.
  5. Kriseman invites Steph Curry to St. Pete on Twitter


    Mayor Rick Kriseman is no stranger to tweaking President Donald Trump on social media.

    Mayor Rick Kriseman took to Twitter Saturday evening to wade into President Donald Trump's latest social media scuffle