Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Four state Senate and House candidates face no opposition

TAMPA — One state senator and three state representatives in districts that include Hillsborough County were reelected without opposition Friday.

Sen. Bill Galvano, R-Bradenton, and Reps. Jake Raburn, R-Lithia, Dana Young, R-Tampa, and Janet Cruz, D-Tampa, faced no opposition in their districts when the deadline to file for the nine House and three Senate seats that include swaths of Hillsborough passed at noon Friday.

Only two races will see primary elections.

Five candidates, including four Democrats and one write-in, are vying to succeed term-limited Rep. Betty Reed, D-Tampa, in District 61.

District 64 will also see a Republican primary between incumbent Rep. James Grant and Miriam Steinberg.

Six races drew no primary opposition but will be decided in the general election.

Here are the candidates:

State Senate:

District 22: Incumbent Jeff Brandes, R-St. Petersburg; Judithanne McLauchlan, Democrat

District 24: Incumbent Tom Lee, R-Brandon; Brandon R. Thebeau, write-in; Steven P. Warren, write-in

District 26: Incumbent Galvano

State House:

District 57: Incumbent Raburn

District 58: Incumbent Daniel D. Raulerson, R-Plant City, Jose N. Vazquez Figueroa, write-in

District 59: Incumbent Ross Spano, R-Dover, Donna Lee Fore, Democrat.

District 60: Incumbent Young.

District 61: Democrats Edwin "Ed" Narain, Sean Shaw, Sharon Carter, Tatiana M. Denson and write-in Nicole Santiago.

District 62: Incumbent Cruz.

District 63: Incumbent Mark Danish, D-Tampa; Shawn Harrison, Republican.

District 64: Incumbent James Grant, R-Tampa, Daniel John Matthews, write-in; Miriam Steinberg, Republican.

District 70: Incumbent Darryl E. Rouson, D-St. Petersburg, Justin M. Bauford, write-in; Philip Garrett, no party affiliation.

Four state Senate and House candidates face no opposition 06/20/14 [Last modified: Friday, June 20, 2014 9:08pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Judge throws out $458,000 condo sale, says Clearwater attorney tricked bidders

    Real Estate

    CLEARWATER — Pinellas County Circuit Judge Jack St. Arnold on Monday threw out the $458,100 sale of a gulf-front condo because of what he called an "unscrupulous" and "conniving" scheme to trick bidders at a foreclosure auction.

    John Houde, left, whose Orlando copany was the high  bidder June 8 at the foreclosure auction of a Redington Beach condo, looks in the direction of Clearwater lawyer and real estate investor Roy C. Skelton, foreground,  during a hearing Monday before Pinellas County Circuit Judge Jack St. Arnold.  [DOUGLAS R. CLIFFORD   |   Times ]
  2. Vision Zero plan to make Hillsborough roads safer to be unveiled


    TAMPA — Vision Zero, the coalition trying to make Hillsborough County safer for bicyclists and pedestrians, is set to unveil its action plan on Tuesday morning.

    Members of the Vision Zero workshop cross Hillsborough Avenue and Kelly Road during a on-street audit of Town 'N Country roads in January. [JAMES BORCHUCK  |   Times]
  3. Pasco EDC names business incubator head in Dade City, will open second site


    Pasco County economic development officials are busy reigniting their business start-up resources following the departure earlier this year of Krista Covey, who ran the Pasco Economic Development Council's SMARTStart business incubator in Dade City.

    Andrew Romaner was promoted this summer to serve as program director of the Dade City SMARTStart Entrepreneur Center, a start-up incubator service of the Pasco Economic Development Council. He succeeds Krista Covey, who relocated to Texas for another startup position. [Courtesy of Pasco EDC]
  4. Clearwater lawyer and real estate investor Roy C. Skelton, center, attends a hearing on Monday Circuit Court Judge Jack St. Arnold at the Pinellas County Courthouse in Clearwater. The hearing was requested by attorneys representing John Houde, left, who filed a motion to invalidate the sale of a $458,000 Redington Beach condo, a deal orchestrated by Skelton, who stands accused of deliberately misleading bidders in a the June 8 foreclosure auction. [DOUGLAS R. CLIFFORD | Times]
  5. Sarasota GOP names Dick Cheney 'Statesman of the Year'


    Former Vice President Dick Cheney will be honored as "Statesman of Year" by the Sarasota GOP, a title that twice went to Donald Trump.

    Dick and Liz Cheney