Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Some Pasco candidates don't need to be on August primary ballot

Know Your Candidates helps voters learn more about the folks who will appear on the August primary ballot.

But what about the candidates who are not on next's month's ballot? Some will only appear in November's general election, and some were lucky enough to win their seats without opposition.

Incoming House Speaker Will Weatherford, R-Wesley Chapel, earned a fourth term when no one else filed in District 38 by the June 8 qualifying deadline. In another legislative race, egg farmer Wilton Simpson, R-Trilby, will face Joshua Smith, D-Hudson, in the general election for Senate District 18.

Several local officials won re-election without opposition: Supervisor of Elections Brian Corley, School Board member Alison Crumbley, and county judges William Sestak, Marc Salton, Anne Wansboro and Candy VanDercar.

In November, Tax Collector Mike Olson, Pasco's only elected Democrat, faces Republican Ed Blommel of San Antonio. Clerk of Courts Paula O'Neil, a Republican, will face no-party candidate Roberta Cutting of Zephyrhills.

Lee Logan can be reached at or (727) 869-6236.

Some Pasco candidates don't need to be on August primary ballot 07/28/12 [Last modified: Monday, October 15, 2012 3:17pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2016 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours