Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Hernando Democrats sweep out old, elect new leaders

BROOKSVILLE — A call for change swept Sen. Barack Obama into the White House and now a similar appeal has led to a clean slate of leaders for the Hernando County Democratic Party.

In a Tuesday night election, executive committee members cleaned house, electing political novice Clarence "Cy" Wingrove as the new party chairman.

The 73-year-old Brooksville resident lists volunteer positions in various state and local political campaigns dating back years, but he joined the executive committee just a few years ago.

Wingrove, who said he doesn't own a cell phone, spent 34 years as a teacher, retiring in 2003 as the principal of Powell Middle School after 15 years at the helm. In the early 1980s, he served as president of the state teachers union for two years.

His election mirrored picks for the remaining five leadership positions, all of which went to non-incumbent officers.

The fresh-faced corps now takes responsibility for a beleaguered party.

Democrats closed the gap between Republicans in terms of voter registration and built a solid early voting campaign, but the party failed to deliver on Election Day.

Republicans swept all but one countywide race behind the leadership of Chairwoman Ana Trinque, who will serve another four-year term.

Wingrove said the party needs to increase its visibility, become more active at the precinct level and keep the new Obama voters engaged.

"I think we have a lot of work ahead of us before the next election and we need to get started," he said.

The party's election served as a quasi-referendum on outgoing party chairman Jay Rowden. Rowden is credited with making large gains in the last four years but also bore the brunt of some frustrated party members after the election.

Rowden planned to step down long before November and sought a position as the state committeeman. But he lost, by a wide margin.

Rowden doesn't see the results in a bad light but said "there's basically a new group … if that new direction works, that's great."

The other officers are as follows: Miranda Griffin, vice chairwoman; Donna Depinet-Dasher, secretary; Ray Dolman, treasurer; Kathy Lambert, state committeewoman; and Michael Sullivan, state committeeman.

John Frank can be reached at or (352) 754-6114.

Hernando Democrats sweep out old, elect new leaders 12/03/08 [Last modified: Friday, December 5, 2008 5:44pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Pinellas construction licensing board looking for ways to fill financial hole

    Local Government

    LARGO — The Pinellas County Construction Licensing Board's interim leader told the governing board Tuesday that the troubled agency is looking for ways to climb out of its

  2. Adam Putnam calls for special session on medical marijuana


    Florida Commissioner of Agriculture and Republican candidate for governor Adam Putnam wants state lawmakers to come back to Tallahassee in a special session to finish the work on medical marijuana that they started but didn't finish earlier this month.

    Florida Commissioner of Agriculture Adam Putnam is a candidate for governor in 2018.
  3. We Tried That: Working on a food truck for a day


    What we tried: It seems like everyone and their mother wants to open a food truck.

    Carlynn Crosby prepares food at the Empamamas food truck in the Cigar City Brewing parking lot in Tampa this month. For a variety of reasons, food trucking is not for the faint of heart.
  4. Local child welfare non-profits lose funding as Eckerd Kids focuses on keeping children out of foster care


    When it comes to getting children out of foster care, the non-profit group Directions for Living has one of the best records in Florida.

    Eckerd Kids
  5. Carlton: A little less swagger, Mr. Mayor?


    In the dispute-gone-national over a bad joke uttered by Tampa's mayor, it is instructive to recall the nickname bestowed upon him by the local military.

    Tampa Mayor Bob Buckhorn fires a .50 caliber machine gun from a rigid hull inflatable boat during the International Special Operations Capabilities Demonstration at the Tampa Convention Center Wednesday, June 25, 2016. JAMES BORCHUCK   |   Times