Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Hillsborough County Commission approves new voting districts

Residents countywide will find themselves voting in different Hillsborough County Commission districts come 2012.

The changes conclude a monthslong redistricting process and would move several neighborhoods into new commission districts based on redrawn boundary lines. The plan that commissioners approved Monday night must still be approved by the U.S. Department of Justice.

Under the new map, all of western Hillsborough moves from District 2 to District 1. This includes Westchase, Keystone and all areas in between. Generally speaking, the new District 1 wraps from the northwestern edge of the county through Town 'N Country and South Tampa and also encompasses most of the South Shore.

The southernmost neighborhoods along Tampa Bay will move from District 1 back into District 4, including Sun City.

Parts of Brandon and Valrico north of State Road 60 will become part of District 2, with the portions on the south side of SR 60 remaining in District 4.

District 2 includes areas in northern Hillsborough, as well as Brandon and Valrico.

District 3 includes central, east and north Tampa. District 4 is Plant City and nearly all of southeastern Hillsborough.

Once a decade, the commission must redraw boundary lines based on the latest census data to ensure each of the four districts have the same number of people. The remaining three seats are elected countywide.

Tia Mitchell can be reached at (813) 610-1268 or

Hillsborough County Commission approves new voting districts 06/23/11 [Last modified: Thursday, June 23, 2011 4:31am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Video: Loggerhead sea turtle found in Islamorada resident's pool


    An adult female loggerhead sea turtle, discovered in an oceanside residential pool in Islamorada on Monday, has been rescued and released off the Florida Keys.

    An adult female loggerhead sea turtle, discovered in an oceanside residential pool in Islamorada on June 22, 2017, has been rescued and released off the Florida Keys. [Photo from video]

  2. What Wilson Ramos will mean to the Rays lineup, pitching

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — Chris Archer was stumping for all-star votes for Corey Dickerson during a live interview Wednesday morning on the MLB Network when he lifted the right earpiece on his headset and said, "I hear a buffalo coming."

    Tampa Bay Rays catcher Wilson Ramos (40) waves to the crowd after being presented with the Silver Slugger Award before the start of the game between the New York Yankees and the Tampa Bay Rays at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, Fla. on Tuesday, April 4, 2017.
  3. Deon Cain, Duke Dawson, Derrick Nnadi among SI's top 100 players


    Sports Illustrated's countdown of the top 100 players in college football continues with three more local players.

  4. She doesn't care if you accept her, as long as you respect her

    Human Interest

    Mary Jane Taylor finds strength walking quietly among the dead.

    Mary Jane Taylor,18, visits Oaklawn Cemetery in downtown Tampa when she is feeling low. "When I hit my low points in life I go the the graveyard," she says. "people are afraid of the graveyard. I love the graveyard." The transgender teen recently graduated from Jefferson High School. She is  enrolled in summer classes at Santa Fe College in Gainesville studying international business. She plans to transfer to the University of Florida, attend law school and become a civil rights lawyer. (JOHN PENDYGRAFT   |   Times)
  5. Few new details in state investigation of Tarpon Springs officer-involved shooting of Nick Provenza

    Public Safety

    TARPON SPRINGS — An investigative report, released this week by the Florida Department of Law Enforcement, into the officer-involved shooting that killed 25-year-old Nick Provenza included largely the same narrative prosecutors released this month that ruled the shooting a "justifiable homicide."

    Stopping while riding by on his bike Michael Prater, 15, hangs his head after looking at the memorial at Safford and Tarpon avenues for Nick Provenza, a 25-year-old who was shot and killed there during a car show Saturday by a Tarpon Springs police officer. Investigators said Provenza pulled a knife on the cop who shot him. Friends find it hard to believe a man they described as a peaceful vegan and musician would be capable of such an act. Prater didn't know the victim but was at the car show.