weather unavailableweather unavailable
Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

McFarlin wins St. Pete Beach mayoral runoff election

ST. PETE BEACH -- Steve McFarlin won a runoff election Tuesday to become the city's next mayor.

McFarlin garnered 53.2 percent of the 2,726 ballots cast to beat incumbent Mayor Mike Finnerty, according to the Pinellas County Supervisor of Elections.

More than half the votes cast were absentee ballots mailed almost a month before Tuesday's election. Overall, there were 554 fewer ballots cast Tuesday than were cast in March.

Finnerty, who was endorsed by the third-place finisher in the March election, Bruce Kadoura, gained more votes between that election and the runoff, but it was not enough to beat McFarlin, who won by 176 votes.

McFarlin wins St. Pete Beach mayoral runoff election 04/19/11 [Last modified: Tuesday, April 19, 2011 8:06pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours