Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Results of Pasco Election Qualifying Deadline


The following officials won re-election the easy way: They didn't draw an opponent.

State Rep. Tom Anderson

State Rep. Will Weatherford

State Attorney Bernie McCabe

Public Defender Bob Dillinger

Property Appraiser Mike Wells

Tax Collector Mike Olson

School Board member Kathryn Starkey (District 4)

County Judge Paul Firmani

Primary decider

The School Board seat in District 2 — featuring nonpartisan candidates Kurt Conover, Peter Hanzel and Joanne Hurley — could be decided in the Aug. 26 primary if one candidate gets a majority of the vote. If not, the top two vote-getters will square off in the November election.

Other primaries

State Senate: Fred Taylor and Richard Skandera will square off in the Democratic primary. The winner faces incumbent Mike Fasano, a Republican, in the Nov. 4 general election.

Sheriff: Incumbent Bob White faces Robert Sullivan on the Republican side; Kim Bogart faces Jeff Deremer on the Democratic side. Non-party candidate Bobby Kinzy will compete with the winners in the fall.

County Commission (District 1): Incumbent Ted Schrader faces John Nicolette in a closed GOP primary. Only Republicans can vote in that race because write-in candidate John Taylor awaits the winner in the general election.

County Commission (District 3): Incumbent Ann Hildebrand faces Matt Matey and Wil Nickerson in the GOP primary; Teresa "Terri" Conroy and Nicholas Planck will square off on the Democratic side. The winners face each other in November.

County Commission (District 5): Incumbent Jack Mariano faces Rich Jenkins in the Republican primary. The winner will run against Democrat Ginny Miller in November.

Clerk Of Courts: Paula O'Neil faces Dan Tipton in the GOP primary. The winner will compete against Democrat Robert Altman in the general election.

Straight to the general election

State House (District 44): Incumbent Robert Schenck, a Republican, faces Democrat Joseph Charles Puglia and Green Party candidate Sarah Roman.

State House (District 46): Incumbent John Legg, a Republican, faces Democrat Ron Rice and non-party candidate John J. Ubele.

State House (District 48): Incumbent Peter F. Nehr, a Republican, faces Democrat Carl Zimmermann.

State House (District 60): Incumbent Ed Homan, a Republican, faces Democratic opponent E.J. Ford.

Superintendent of Schools: Incumbent Heather Fiorentino, a Republican, faces Democratic challenger Stephen Donaldson.

Supervisor of Elections: Brian Corley, a Republican, faces Democratic challenger Patricia Carroll.

Results of Pasco Election Qualifying Deadline 06/21/08 [Last modified: Tuesday, June 24, 2008 11:08am]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Federal agencies demand records from SeaWorld theme park


    Associated Press

    ORLANDO — Two federal agencies are reportedly demanding financial records from SeaWorld.

    Killer whales Ikaika and Corky participate in behaviors commonly done in the wild during SeaWorld's Killer Whale educational presentation in this photo from Jan. 9. SeaWorld has been subpoenaed by two federal agencies for comments that executives and the company made in August 2014 about the impact from the "Blackfish" documentary. 
[Nelvin C. Cepeda/San Diego Union-Tribune/TNS]
  2. The people you meet along O.J. Howard Lane


    AUTAUGAVILLE, Ala. —The screen door hangs open to Laura's Country Kitchen but the dining room is empty with no one to feed.

    OJ Howard (far right) is seen in a photo from his adolescent years at Bethesda Missionary Baptist Church in Prattville, Ala., on Wednesday, May 3, 2017. Howard served as an usher in addition to attending regular services at this church.
  3. St. Pete Pride schedule and live blog

    Special Topics

    St. Pete Pride Block Party and Night Parade: St. Pete Pride's popular parade moves to downtown St. Petersburg's scenic waterfront. The block party brings DJs, food and drinks starting at 2 p.m. The parade steps off at Fifth Ave NE and Bayshore at 7 p.m. with fireworks at 9:45 p.m. 2 p.m., North Straub Park, Fifth Avenue …

    A local business rings in Pride 2017 with some window decorations.
  4.   Jake Faria has pitched 6-1/3 innings and has allowed one run in each of this first three starts.