Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

RNC revises convention schedule

New schedule

Highlights of the new schedule for the Republican National Convention:


2 p.m.: GOP chairman Reince Priebus' call to order

2:10 p.m.: Recess


2 p.m.: Opening procedural steps, appointment of convention committees; RNC chairman Priebus; RNC co-chairman Sharon Day; Tampa Mayor Bob Buckhorn; convention chief executive William Harris; chairman of Tampa Bay Host Committee Al Austin; House Speaker John Boehner; official convention photograph; Committee on Rules chairman John Sununu; Committee on Resolutions chairman Gov. Bob McDonnell; Committee on Resolutions co-chairman U.S. Sen. John Hoeven; Committee on Resolutions co-chairman U.S. Rep. Marsha Blackburn; roll call for nomination of president of the United States; and roll call for nomination of vice president of the United States.

6:40 p.m.: Recess.

7 p.m.: Remarks by Boehner; remarks by Priebus; remarks by actor Janine Turner; and remarks by former U.S. Sen. Rick Santorum.

8 p.m.: Remarks by U.S. Sen. Kelly Ayotte, R-N.H.; remarks by Ohio Gov. John Kasich; remarks by Oklahoma Gov. Mary Fallin; remarks by Virginia Gov. Bob McDonnell; and remarks by Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker.

9 p.m.: Remarks by Nevada Gov. Brian Sandoval; remarks by Texas Senate Republican candidate Ted Cruz; remarks by Artur Davis; remarks by South Carolina Gov. Nikki Haley.

10 p.m.: Remarks by Lucé Vela Fortuño; remarks by Ann Romney; remarks by New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie; and benediction by Sammy Rodriguez.


7 p.m.: Remarks by Senate Republican Leader and convention temporary chairman Mitch McConnell, R-Ky.; remarks by Sen. Rand Paul, R-Ky.; and remarks by Christopher Devlin-Young and Jeanine McDonnell.

8 p.m.: Remarks by Arizona Sen. John McCain; remarks by Florida Attorney General Pam Bondi and Georgia Attorney General Sam Olens; remarks by Sen. John Thune, R-S.D.; and remarks by Sen. Rob Portman, R-Ohio.

9 p.m.: Remarks by Puerto Rico Gov. Luis Fortuño; remarks by Minnesota Gov. Tim Pawlenty; Bush 41, 43 film; and remarks by Mike Huckabee.

10 p.m.: Remarks by Condoleezza Rice; remarks by New Mexico Gov. Susana Martinez; remarks by vice presidential nominee U.S. Rep. Paul Ryan, R-Wis.


7 p.m.: Remarks by U.S. Rep. Connie Mack, R-Fort Myers; Reagan legacy video; remarks by Newt and Callista Gingrich; and remarks by Craig Romney.

8 p.m.: Remarks by former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush; remarks by Bob White, chairman of Romney for President campaign; remarks by Grant Bennett; and remarks by Tom Stemberg.

9 p.m.: Remarks by former Massachusetts Lt. Governor Kerry Healey; remarks by Jane Edmonds, former Massachusetts Secretary of Workforce; and remarks by Olympians Michael Eruzione, Derek Parra and Kim Rhode.

10 p.m.: Remarks by U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio, R-Fla.; remarks by presidential nominee Mitt Romney; and benediction by Archbishop Timothy M. Dolan; Boehner declares convention adjourned.

RNC revises convention schedule 08/26/12 [Last modified: Sunday, August 26, 2012 10:27pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Tuesday's Nothing More concert moved from the State Theatre to Jannus Live in St. Petersburg


    Nothing More was one of the highlights of April's 98 Rockfest, a thoroughly entertaining rock outfit with a larger-than-live stage presence.

    Nothing More performed at 98 Rockfest 2017 in Tampa.
  2. Buccaneers-Vikings Turning Point, Week 3: Overreaction vs. reality


    "None of us really know how this group of 53 guys is going to come together and how we're going to play this season."

    Vikings receiver Stefon Diggs torched a porous Bucs secondary Sunday with eight catches for 173 yards and two touchdowns. [Getty Images]
  3. Triad Retail Media names Sherry Smith as CEO


    ST. PETERSBURG — Triad Retail Media, a St. Petersburg-based digital ads company, said CEO Roger Berdusco is "leaving the company to pursue new opportunities" and a member of the executive team, Sherry Smith, is taking over.

    Roger Berdusco is stepping down as CEO at Triad Retail Media to pursue other opportunities. [Courtesy of Triad Retail Media]
  4. What to watch this week: Fall TV kicks off with 'Will & Grace,' 'Young Sheldon,' return of 'This Is Us'


    September temperatures are still creeping into the 90s, but fall officially started a few days ago. And with that designation comes the avalanche of new and returning TV shows. The Big Bang Theory fans get a double dose of Sheldon Cooper's nerdisms with the return of the titular series for an eleventh season and …

    Sean Hayes, Debra Messing and Megan Mullally in Will & Grace.
  5. Eight refueling jets from Arkansas, 250 people heading to new home at MacDill


    TAMPA — The number of KC-135 refueling jets at MacDill Air Force Base will grow from 18 to 24 with the return of a squadron that once called Tampa home.

    A KC-135 Stratotanker, a military aerial refueling jet, undergoes maintenance at MacDill Air Force Base. The planes, many flying since the late 1950s, are now being flown more than twice as much as scheduled because of ongoing foreign conflicts. [LOREN ELLIOTT   |   Times]