Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Schedule for final night of the Democratic National Convention

The Democratic National Convention concludes tonight at Time Warner Cable Arena in Charlotte, N.C. Highlights of the schedule:

4:30-6 p.m.

• James Rogers, CEO Duke Energy

• Antonio R. Villaraigosa, mayor of Los Angeles

• Pledge of Allegiance, led by former U.S. Rep. Gabrielle Giffords

• U.S. Rep. Barney Frank, D-Mass.

6-7 p.m.

• U.S. Rep. John Lewis, R-Ga.

• U.S. Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz, chair of the Democratic National Committee

7-8 p.m.

• Jim Messina, campaign manager, Obama for America

• Beau Biden, attorney general of Delaware and son of Vice President Joe Biden

• Actresses Scarlett Johansson and Kerry Washington

8-9 p.m.

• Caroline Kennedy

• Jennifer Granholm, former Governor of Michigan

• Actress Eva Longoria

• Brian Schweitzer, governor of Montana

• Charlie Crist, former Governor of Florida

• U.S. Sen. John Kerry, D-Mass.

9-10 p.m.

• Dr. Jill Biden

• Joe Biden, vice president of the United States

10-11 p.m.

• U.S. Sen. Dick Durbin, D-Ill.

• Barack Obama, president of the United States

Schedule for final night of the Democratic National Convention 09/06/12 [Last modified: Thursday, September 6, 2012 3:54pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Winner and loser of the week in Florida politics


     Winner of the week

    Peter Antonacci. Gov. Rick Scott tapped his go-to utility player to lead his Florida job recruiting agency, Enterprise Florida, having previously picked him for his general counsel, to lead the South Florida Water Management District and to serve as Palm Beach state …

  2. On the Camino de Santiago, Day 19: A peregrina spends the whole day under the weather, and part of the day under the table


    Day 19: El Burgo Ranero to Puente Villarente: 25.4 km, 7.5 hours (Total for Days 1-19 = 454 km (282 miles)

    This list pretty much sums up my day:

    Eat two bananas

    Walk 13.1 kilometers


    Walk 6.2 kilometers


    Eat half an apple

    Walk 6.1 kilometers

    Crash< …

  3. Storm routs Cleveland


    TAMPA — Alvin Ray Jackson intercepted two passes, returning one for a touchdown, and recovered two fumbles as the Storm routed Cleveland 57-27 Saturday night in its home regular-season finale at Amalie Arena.

  4. Miscue sends Rays to another stinging loss to Rangers (w/video)

    The Heater

    ST. PETERSBURG — The Rays gave away DJ Kitty onesies Saturday night. Then they gave away the game.

    Rays centerfielder Mallex Smith misses a drive hit by Adrian Beltre with two outs in the sixth, allowing the tying runs to score. Beltre puts Texas ahead 4-3 when he scores after two wild pitches.
  5. Rowdies shut out Charleston


    ST. PETERSBURG — The Rowdies know a thing or two about stalemates, with five of their past 10 games ending in a draw.

    Rowdies in the first half during the game between Tampa Bay Rowdies and the Charleston Battery at Al Lang Field in St. Petersburg, Fla., on Saturday, Jul 22, 2017.