Clear79° FULL FORECASTClear79° FULL FORECAST
Make us your home page
Instagram

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

1130668 2999-04-26 00:00:00.0 UTC 2999-04-25T20:00:00.000-04:00 2010-10-27 21:34:43.0 UTC 2010-10-27T17:34:43.000-04:00 humane-society-of-the-nature-coast-dog-thefts-end-in-guilty-plea-a-year-in Published 2010-10-28 00:01:18.0 UTC 2010-10-27T20:01:18.000-04:00 news/publicsafety/crime DTI 67725768 BROOKSVILLE — A Brooksville man arrested for breaking into the Humane Society of the Nature Coast and stealing several dogs in August has been sentenced to a year in the county jail. According to the State Attorney's Office, Juan Claudio, 26, pleaded guilty to the Aug. 19 burglary and theft of several dogs at the shelter. He was sentenced Tuesday. Claudio was arrested along with another suspect, Jose Navarro, 20, several days after two small-breed dogs and three puppies were discovered missing from the facility on Wiscon and Mobley roads. The suspects went over the shelter's fence after dark and took the dogs from their unlocked cages, according to the Hernando County Sheriff's Office. Claudio later told deputies they took the dogs to sell because Navarro owed a man some money. Deputies later retrieved four of the dogs from a nearby home. The fifth dog was found dead on Wiscon Road, apparently the result of being hit by a car. Navarro reached a plea agreement earlier this month and was sentenced to two years of probation. Times staff News,Public Safety,Crime,Hernando Humane Society of the Nature Coast dog thefts end in guilty plea, a year in county jail LNEILLN He will spend a year in county jail after a guilty plea. An accomplice gets probation. HER Hernando djj6mnqfx2qz djj6m Shelter dogs thief sentenced Brooksville 7 herdogcase102810.her Shelter dogs thief sentenced 2010-10-28 04:00:00.0 UTC 2010-10-28T00:00:00.000-04:00 false templatedata/tampabaytimes/StaffArticle/data/2010/10/27/67725768-humane-society-of-the-nature-coast-dog-thefts-end-in-guilty-plea-a-year-in StaffArticle 2012-12-05 04:18:03.0 UTC 2012-12-04T23:18:03.000-05:00 news,public safetyPublic Safetynews,public safety,crimeCrimeBROOKSVILLE — A Brooksville man arrested for breaking into the Humane Society of the Nature Coast and stealing several dogs in August has been sentenced to a year in the county jail.News,Public Safety,Crime,HernandoNews,Public Safety,Crime,Hernando<span style="display:none;" class="author source-org vcard"><span class="org fn">Tampa Bay Times</span></span><a rel="item-license" href="/universal/user_agreement.shtml">&#169; 2016 Tampa Bay Times</a><br /><br />Times staff 2271171 2016-03-29 20:26:16.0 UTC 5 Months Ago photo-led-to-theft-of-boxer-mix-pups-at-humane-society-of-the-nature-coast news/humaninterest Photo led to theft of boxer-mix pups at Humane Society of the Nature Coast StaffArticle 2269719 2016-03-17 13:57:30.0 UTC 5 Months Ago new-director-ready-to-put-experience-to-work-for-humane-society-of-the news/humaninterest New director ready to put experience to work for Humane Society of the Nature Coast StaffArticle 2290094 2016-08-18 20:46:05.0 UTC 1 Week Ago after-tragic-louisiana-flooding-tampa-bay-humane-society-welcomes news/humaninterest After tragic Louisiana flooding, Tampa Bay Humane Society welcomes displaced dogs StaffArticle <p>BROOKSVILLE — A Brooksville man arrested for breaking into the Humane Society of the Nature Coast and stealing several dogs in August has been sentenced to a year in the county jail.</p> <p>According to the State Attorney's Office, Juan Claudio, 26, pleaded guilty to the Aug. 19 burglary and theft of several dogs at the shelter. He was sentenced Tuesday.</p> <p>Claudio was arrested along with another suspect, Jose Navarro, 20, several days after two small-breed dogs and three puppies were discovered missing from the facility on Wiscon and Mobley roads.</p> <p>The suspects went over the shelter's fence after dark and took the dogs from their unlocked cages, according to the Hernando County Sheriff's Office.</p> <p>Claudio later told deputies they took the dogs to sell because Navarro owed a man some money. Deputies later retrieved four of the dogs from a nearby home. The fifth dog was found dead on Wiscon Road, apparently the result of being hit by a car.</p> <p>Navarro reached a plea agreement earlier this month and was sentenced to two years of probation.</p>trueruntime2016-08-30 05:27:14