Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Officers from 2011 police shootout receive congressional honor

ST. PETERSBURG — Several local law enforcement officers were honored Friday for their bravery in the line of duty more than two years ago.

Seven officers received the Law Enforcement Congressional Badge of Bravery for their involvement in the Jan. 24, 2011 St. Petersburg police shootout that resulted in the death of Sgt. Thomas J. Baitinger and K-9 Officer Jeffrey A. Yaslowitz. The award, given by the U.S. Office of Justice Programs, recognizes officers who have shown bravery and either sustained injuries or risked injury in the line of duty.

"They demonstrated uncommon valor, selfless sacrifice, resolute bravery, devotion to duty and tremendous courage under fire," St. Petersburg police Chief Chuck Harmon said of the honorees.

The recipients include U.S. Deputy Marshal Scott Ley, who was injured in the shootout, St. Petersburg Sgt. Karl D. Lounge Jr. and St. Petersburg Officers Timothy McClintick, Max McDonald and Douglas Weaver. Awards were also given posthumously to Baitinger and Yaslowitz. The audience of about 300 gave a standing ovation as the fallen officers' family members accepted the awards on their behalf.

"It means a lot as the recognition keeps spreading and the honor of these men and women and what they do, day in and day out," Yaslowitz's wife, Lorraine, said after the ceremony. "For our family especially, it means that Jeff will never be forgotten."

Lorraine Yaslowitz accepted the award alongside her children, Caleb, Calen and Haylie.

Baitinger's parents, Ken and Lu, and sister, Amy, traveled from Wisconsin for the ceremony.

On that morning in 2011, officers arrived at a St. Petersburg house, trying to locate a violent fugitive. The fugitive's wife indicated that he was in the attic. When Ley and Yaslowitz went into the attic, the fugitive opened fire. McClintick treated Ley, who had fallen out of the attic. Baitinger, Lounge, McDonald and Weaver comprised the Rapid Response Team that entered the house after hearing the call, "Shots fired, officers down."

The suspect, Hydra Lacy Jr., was also killed in the firefight.

The awards were presented by U.S. Reps. Gus Bilirakis, Kathy Castor and C.W. "Bill" Young at the St. Petersburg College Allstate Center.

Contact Lauren Carroll at or (727) 893-8913.

Officers from 2011 police shootout receive congressional honor 05/31/13 [Last modified: Friday, May 31, 2013 11:14pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Former Sen. Greg Evers, advocate for law enforcement, dead at 62.

    State Roundup

    TALLAHASSEE — Former State Sen. Greg Evers, the Baker Florida strawberry farmer and veteran politician, was killed in a single car crash hear his home in Okaloosa County. The Florida Highway Patrol confirmed the death late Tuesday, but deferred any further information pending an investigation. He was 62.

    Former Florida Senator Greg Evers, R- Milton, was a passionate advocate for law enforcement and corrections officers. He was found dead Tuesday afternoon in a car crash. He was 62. [SCOTT KEELER | Tampa Bay Times]
  2. Polk sheriff: Gibsonton man sent child porn to Bay News 9 anchor


    A 20-year-old Gibsonton man has been indicted on federal charges after authorities said he repeatedly sent child pornography to a news anchor for Bay News 9.

    Marchaun Browning, 20 of Gibsonton, was indicted on federal charges, accused of sending child pornography to a news anchor for Bay News 9 using Twitter. [Courtesy of Polk County Sheriff's Office]
  3. 5 things to do under $5: Type artists, shuffleboard, toy train show, Wildflower Walk


    1 Letterheads Typefest: The muralists who run Illsol Space, a gallery in Tampa Heights, said their respect for handmade fonts and sign painting techniques moved them to curate this exhibit featuring type-based muralists, hand-style lettering designers, sign painters, letterpress studios and type designers. …

    Colm O’Connor, a Dublin sign writer, is among the 22 artists featured in the Letterheads Typefest exhibit at the Illsol Space gallery.
  4. Foundation Partners buys Anderson-McQueen Funeral Home


    ST. PETERSBURG — Anderson-McQueen Funeral Home, the Tampa Bay area's largest family-owned funeral company, has been sold.

    Anderson-McQueen Funeral Home, the Tampa Bay area's largest family-owned funeral company, has been sold.
[CHRIS URSO   |   Times]
  5. Apollo Beach woman dies while scalloping in Crystal River


    An Apollo Beach woman died on Monday while scalloping with her husband in the Gulf of Mexico off the coast of Crystal River, according to the Citrus County Sheriff's Office.