weather unavailableweather unavailable
Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

PSCO employees honored at annual ceremony

SEMINOLE — The Pinellas County Sheriff's Office honored more than 90 agency employees Thursday at an annual awards ceremony for top performers in public service and crime-solving.

The ceremony at Seminole's Recreation Auditorium commended "courageous service" and "personal initiative," a PCSO representative said.

Jim Piper and Holly Tsanakaliotis were named the Law Enforcement Deputies of the Year for saving a 4-year-old boy's life with CPR.

Jose A. Lopez was named Detention Deputy of the Year for dedicating his time to changing the lives of young offenders.

Dawn Walker was named Forensic Science Specialist of the Year for responding to what was initially called by deputies a natural death and, after interpreting blood stains at the scene, determined it was a homicide.

PSCO employees honored at annual ceremony 05/17/13 [Last modified: Friday, May 17, 2013 4:20pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours