weather unavailableweather unavailable
Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

St. Pete officers awarded national Medal of Valor at White House

Already named Florida's top cops, St. Petersburg police Sgt. Karl Lounge and Officer Douglas Weaver were among 18 police officers honored Wednesday at the national Medal of Valor ceremony at the White House.

The ceremony, which also honored fallen Sgt. Thomas Baitinger and officers Max McDonald and Timothy McClintick, was officiated by Vice President Joe Biden and Attorney General Eric Holder.

The five officers were awarded with the Medal of Valor, the nation's highest honor for police officers, for their actions during a January 2011 shootout in which Baitinger and Officer Jeffrey Yaslowitz were both killed.

Baitinger's wife, Paige Baitinger, accepted her late husband's medal on his behalf.

Lounge and Weaver both previously received Medals of Valor for their actions from the St. Petersburg Police Department and were named "Officers of the Year" by Florida Attorney General Pam Bondi.

St. Pete officers awarded national Medal of Valor at White House 02/20/13 [Last modified: Wednesday, February 20, 2013 11:29pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours