Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

St. Petersburg Times staffers earn major journalism awards

St. Petersburg Times journalists Lane DeGregory, Melissa Lyttle and Lucy Morgan have been honored with first-place awards in major national contests.

DeGregory won first place in the feature writing category of the National Headliner Awards for a body of work that included "The Girl in the Window," a special report about a feral child living in deplorable conditions who was rescued and adopted by loving parents.

Lyttle's photography in "The Girl in the Window" received two honors: a first place in Best Published Picture Story in the Best of Photojournalism awards from the National Press Photographers Association; and first place in the Sigma Delta Chi Awards category of feature photography.

Morgan won a Sigma Delta Chi first place in nondeadline reporting for "Double Dipping," her series of stories last year on highly paid state employees "retiring" and coming back to work their same jobs. Since 1932 the Society of Professional Journalists has recognized the best in the nation's professional journalism with these awards.

Times staffers earned three other National Headliner awards. In the category of special or feature column on one subject, photographer John Pendygraft took second place for "Paycheck to Paycheck," and Jeff Klinkenberg earned third place for his column "Real Florida." In the category of illustrative graphics, the Times news art staff took second place for a collection of work.

The Times earned a Best of Photojournalism second-place award for a Sports section front at the end of last year's World Series. Recognized were photo editor Stefanie Boyar, photographer Brian Cassella and the design team.

The staff of PolitiFact, the Times' Web site that rates the truthfulness of political statements, also was named a finalist in the category of Washington reporting in the Scripps Howard Foundation's annual National Journalism Awards.

Times' Bay magazine collects award for best cover

The St. Petersburg TimesBay was named best Magazine Cover in a global competition of the Best of Photojournalism. Three Times journalists received recognition in the first-place award for the photo editing division. Edmund Fountain was the photographer for the August 2008 "Hot Pursuits" cover; Suzette Moyer was the art director, and Bruce Moyer was the editor. Sports Illustrated received the second-place Magazine Cover award for its Olympic Preview issue. Placing third was .tyzden, published in Slovakia. The Best of Photojournalism is a project of the National Press Photographers Association.

St. Petersburg Times staffers earn major journalism awards 04/13/09 [Last modified: Tuesday, April 14, 2009 3:08pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Philippines forces make gains in city under siege by ISIS-linked militants

    MARAWI, Philippines — Philippine forces say they now control most of a southern city where militants linked to the Islamic State group launched a bloody siege nearly a week ago.

  2. Rays exhausted but happy after 15-inning win over Twins (w/video)

    The Heater

    MINNEAPOLIS — Before the Rays eventually won Sunday's 6½-hour, 15-inning marathon against the Twins 8-6, they did plenty to lose it. And we need to get that out of the way first.

    The Rays’ Evan Longoria enjoys a laugh after scoring, barely, to tie it in the ninth on Steven Souza Jr.’s two-out single.
  3. Tom Jones' Two Cents: ABC's Indy 500 coverage is stellar again

    TV and Radio

    Times columnist Tom Jones looks back at the best and worst from a weekend of televised sports.

    Best coverage

    Takuma Sato left, celebrates after winning the Indianapolis 500 as Helio Castroneves is a little late passing him. ABC’s coverage of the race is stellar throughout, with plenty of extras but no fake drama.
  4. Takuma Sato surprise winner of wreck-filled Indy 500

    Auto racing

    INDIANAPOLIS — Takuma Sato, a journeyman driver, became the first Japanese winner of the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday when he held off three-time champion Helio Castroneves in a 230-mph wheel-rubbing duel to the finish.

    Scott Dixon’s car goes over the top of Jay Howard, soaring so high that Helio Castroneves drove under it while it was airborne. Stunningly, there were no serious injuries.
  5. South Korea military: North Korea fires unidentified projectile


    SEOUL — North Korea launched a ballistic missile early today that flew 280 miles and landed in Japan's exclusive economic zone, the South Korean military and the Japanese government said.

    S. Korean President Moon Jae-in is assessing the launch.