Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

State, local ballot lineup finalized

Ballot lineup finalized

The following state and local candidates qualified Friday for this fall's elections. (Candidates for state attorney, public defender, state judicial posts and Congress qualified in May.) Those without opponents were elected. Incumbents are noted with (I):

State Legislature

Senate District 11

Democrats: Richard Skandera, Palm Harbor; Fred Taylor, New Port Richey

Republican: Mike Fasano (I), New Port Richey

Senate District 13

Republican: Dennis Jones (I), Seminole

State House

House District 45

Republican: Tom Anderson (I), Dunedin

House District 48:

Democrat: Carl "Z" Zimmerman, Palm Harbor

Republican: Peter Nehr (I), Tarpon Springs

House District 50:

Republican: Ed Hooper (I), Clearwater

House District 51:

Democrat: Janet Long (I), Seminole

Republican: Terry L. Sanchez, Largo

House District 52:

Democrat: Bill Heller (I), St. Petersburg

Republican: Ross Johnson, St. Petersburg

House District 53:

Democrat: Rick Kriseman (I), St. Petersburg

House District 54:

Democrat: George Alexander Gonzalez, Madeira Beach

Republican: James C. "Jim" Frishe (I), St. Petersburg

House District 55:

Democrat: Charles S. McKenzie Sr., St. Petersburg; Darryl Ervin Rouson (I), St. Petersburg

Write-in: Calvester Benjamin-Anderson, St. Petersburg

Pinellas County

Clerk of Court

Republican: Ken Burke (I)

Property Appraiser

Democrat: Ben Friedlander

Republican: Pam Dubov, Frank Gregoire


Democrat: Randall Jones, John Pikramenos

Republican: Jim Coats (I)

No party affiliation: Greg S. Pound

Supervisor of Elections

Democrat: Jack Killings­worth

Republican: Deborah Clark (I)

Tax Collector

Republican: Diane Nelson (I)

County Commission

District 1, At Large

Democrat: Paul Matton

Republican: Neil Brickfield, Jane Gallucci

District 3, At Large

Democrat: Rene Flowers, Darden Rice

Republican: Nancy Bostock

District 5

Democrat: Norm Roche

Republican: Karen Seel (I)

No party affiliation: Jake Mullens

District 7

Democrat: Ken Welch (I)

School Board (Nonpartisan)

District 1, at-large: Janet Clark (I), Jennifer Crockett, Max Loden, Grant Smith

District 2, at-large: David Archie, Nina Hayden, Minetha Morris, Sean O'Flannery, Ron Walker

District 4: Chris Hardman, Steven Isbitts, Ken Peluso, Robin Wikle

District 5: Carol Cook (I)

County Judge (Nonpartisan)

Group 3: Edwin B. Jagger (I)

Group 10: James V. Pierce (I)

Group 14: Robert G. Dittmer (I)

Group 15: John Carassas (I)

State, local ballot lineup finalized 06/21/08 [Last modified: Monday, November 1, 2010 1:04pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours

  1. Tampa's bid for fifth Super Bowl means secret and expensive promises to NFL


    TAMPA — Before Tampa is officially named the host of the 2021 Super Bowl, local organizers have 90 days to convince NFL owners the city can meet certain conditions.

    What are they? That's top secret.

  2. Meet Batman's 8-year-old sidekick, whose super power is vanquishing a brain tumor

    Human Interest

    First, he vanquished a brain tumor.

    Now, Ty Verbanas is preparing to help Batman take on a collection of evil villains.

    Zachary Hurst and TJ McDonnell, playing Alfred the butler and Batman,  welcome 8-year-old Ty Verbanas to the Florida Batcave.
 To inspire Ty as he faced brain surgey, a Florida nonprofit that delpoys super heroes promnised to train the boy as the Caped Crusader's sidekick.
  3. Westshore Marina District project takes shape with another acquisition

    Real Estate

    TAMPA — One of Tampa Bay's prime waterfront areas took another major step toward redevelopment Friday as WCI Communities bought 2.35 acres in Westshore Marina District.

    WCI Communities, Lennar's high-end subsidiary,has paid $2.5 million for 2.35 acres in the Westshore Marina District for 35 townhomes. WCI is under contract  to buy an additional 9.5 acres.
[BTI Partners]
  4. Watch a man steal a lawn mower by driving it off the lot in Clearwater


    CLEARWATER — Police are looking for a man who drove a lawn mower straight off the Quality Motors lot on Gulf-to-Bay Boulevard last week.

    Clearwater police are looking for a man who drove a lawn mower off the Quality Motors lot on May 18. (Clearwater police)
  5. Ex-daughter-in-law accused of $80,000 shopping spree with family Sam's Club account

    Human Interest

    TAMPA — Plenty of people have in-law horror stories. But perhaps not as vexing as the one Thomas and June Simpson tell.

    Police said Mishay Simpson shot Andrew Noll in 2014 after he entered her Davis Islands home. An investigation found the two had been having an affair. Now she is accused in a civil lawsuit of charging $80,000 to her ex-husband's Sam's Club card, which was linked to his parents' bank account. [Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office]