Make us your home page

Today’s top headlines delivered to you daily.

(View our Privacy Policy)

Times journalists win two firsts, five overall in National Headliner Awards

Tampa Bay Times journalists won two first-place honors and five overall in the 81st annual National Headliner Awards competition honoring excellent journalism in U.S. news organizations during 2014.

Winning first-place awards in the newspaper division were:

• Food critic Laura Reiley in the category of special or feature column on one subject for trend pieces on Florida cuisine from fine dining to feral pigs.

• Metro columnist John Romano, local interest column on a variety of subjects, including education, Pam Bondi and health insurance.

Winning second-place:

• Times staff for the "Insult to Injury" series on trauma center fees in the category of health, medical and science writing. The entry included stories by the investigative team of Alexandra Zayas, Connie Humburg, Kris Hundley and Letitia Stein.

• Sports columnist Tom Jones, sports column by an individual, including pieces on David Price, Derek Jeter and Roger Goodell.

Winning third-place:

• Enterprise reporter Lane DeGregory, in the category of feature writing on a variety of subjects, including a narrative story about a high school football player in Pahokee and the tale of Zeke the lifesaving Labrador.

Founded in 1934 by the Press Club of Atlantic City, the National Headliner Awards program is one of the oldest and largest annual national contests recognizing journalistic merit in the communications industry.

Times journalists win two firsts, five overall in National Headliner Awards 04/20/15 [Last modified: Monday, April 20, 2015 9:36pm]
Photo reprints | Article reprints

© 2017 Tampa Bay Times


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours