The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles has announced several changes, which go into effect Oct. 1, that affect Florida drivers and those wishing to receive a Florida driver's license.
• Customers must present proof of a Social Security number (Social Security card or documents showing the number, such as a tax return, W-2 form, property tax statement, pay check, DD-214 or school record).
• Passports, permanent resident cards and employment authorization cards presented as proof of identification or legal presence must be valid/current; expired documents will not be accepted.
• The department will no longer accept driver licenses or identification cards issued by other states as primary identification.
• Individuals will be allowed to elect the school option to avoid points on their license up to five times in a 10-year period, instead of five instances in a lifetime.
• Commercial driver license, or CDL, holders who receive a driving under the influence conviction on or after Oct. 1, even while driving a personal vehicle, will be disqualified from operating a commercial motor vehicle for one year for the first offense and permanently disqualified for the second offense. These penalties are based on conviction dates, not offense dates.
Also, license fees and the length of time for which certain identification cards and motor vehicle licenses are valid will change as well.
For U.S. citizens and immigrants with permanent legal presence: Florida Class E driver's licenses, as well as commercial driver's licenses for Class A, B or C licenses, will be valid for eight years, except for customers 80 and older. All licenses for customers 80 and older will be valid for six years.
Identification cards for children ages 5-14 will be valid for four years. Identification cards for customers 15 and older will be valid for eight years.
Fee changes include:
• Class E license will be $27 for originals, $20 for renewals; replacements will be $10
• CDL license is $67 for originals and renewals
• ID cards, $10 for originals and renewals
• All endorsements will be $7.
Visit the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle's Web site at www.flhsmv.gov.